PDA

View Full Version : Torrent help....


The Bad Guy
10-30-2004, 01:37 PM
I downloaded a torrent program client about a month ago, but everytime i try to DL stuff, I get an error.

Is there any torrent experts out there who can give me good directions on where to go for torrents, a good place for clients, and some help on what i have to do to get them working?

Thanks in advance.

Saulbadguy
10-30-2004, 01:40 PM
Got a firewall?

Miles
10-30-2004, 01:44 PM
http://bittornado.com/ for the bittorent program

www.suprnova.org for torrents

Once you install the client, all you have to do is click the torrent link and go from there.

The Bad Guy
10-30-2004, 02:53 PM
Got a firewall?

Yeah, I do, but I checked allow when it comes up.

I'll try the links that Miles left.

Thanks guys.

The Bad Guy
11-11-2004, 12:37 PM
Are there any other torrent search engines?

Can't find what i'm looking for..

Swanman
11-11-2004, 01:59 PM
Are there any other torrent search engines?

Can't find what i'm looking for..

I would recommend Azureus as your bittorrent client, I'm not sure of the website but just google Azureus and you should find it. The only bad thing is that it's a bit of a resource hog because it uses Java to run, but I can usually download 1-2 GB in a day using it (I have dsl with around 2 Mb/sec download).

Other sites I've used are www.phoenix-torrents.com and www.torrentbits.org. Let me know what you're looking for or shoot me a PM and I can help you out.

Count Alex's Losses
11-11-2004, 02:12 PM
The other sites I use for torrents are:

www.elitetorrents.org

www.torrentreactor.net

I think you have to register for at least one of those, but its worth it.

It's very important to have backups of stuff!
ROFL

DRU
11-11-2004, 11:46 PM
I would recommend Azureus as well. It uses only a single port for all torrents. Simply clicking yes when the firewall pops up won't help. You have to actually open up whatever port you choose Azureus to use. It's a step you have to do manually and it varies with all firewalls, though it's very easy. Consult your firewall guide for info on opening ports.

elvomito
11-12-2004, 01:24 AM
http://www.torrentspy.com/ just opened

The Bad Guy
11-12-2004, 01:57 AM
I have sygate's firewall and for the life of me I can't figure out how to manually open the ports.

I searched the help topics and nothing...

elvomito
11-12-2004, 03:26 AM
i don't know if you have the pro version, but "advanced application configuration" lets you specify that torrent uses certain ports.

http://smb.sygate.com/support/userguides/pspf/pspf55_userguide.pdf

Redcoats58
11-12-2004, 07:21 AM
Here you go Bad Guy this is a good page to walk you through opening ports. :thumb:

http://www.portforward.com/