PDA

View Full Version : OK, let's talk a little D here......

ROYC75
11-29-2004, 06:45 PM
Rollouts, sweeps, cutbacks and end arounds are killing us. What's up with that ? Really, how hard is it to teach a DE or LB containment instead of crashing the ball all of the time ?

Really, how hard is it, somebody answer this. I mean I'm not a professional but in high school it was easy, it basically boils down to discipline. Maybe that's it, we are so undiscipline this year .

Somebody, anybody, if you can answer this, either I'm missing this or is it the Chiefs players. :hmmm:

Baby Lee
11-29-2004, 06:48 PM
Disciplined and fast LBs. Ray Lewis alone could've halved the yards those cutback artists got against us this year.

ROYC75
11-29-2004, 06:52 PM
The MLB must delay his reaction just a second to read the actual play but yet have the speed needed to cover the hole or the POA needed. Mitchell reacts quickly, thus leaving himself out of place many times.

The OLB has to take the similar approach, but all of them must do there work in the film rooms to reconize the plays as they develope in front of them.

The DE's are doing the same, they react and crash to the ball on the sanp, leaving them open to the end arounds and cutbacks.

Tribal Warfare
11-29-2004, 06:55 PM
That's exactly why I'm on the Derrick Johnson and/or Ahmad Brooks bandwagon for the 2005 draft

Saulbadguy
11-29-2004, 06:56 PM
Teamwork. Our defense does not operate as a unit, period. Individual breakdowns are much more costly when there are more of them. DE get caught up in a bootleg? No problem..the LB should be in coverage, not reacting towards the WRONG way. So..the LB reacts to the wrong direction..no problem, the guy will make the catch now, but a cornerback should make the tackle. CB misses the tackle? Well, one of the safeties will be there. Safety misses it..whoops, touchdown.

jspchief
11-29-2004, 07:03 PM