PDA

View Full Version : Any electricians in the house?


KCFalcon59
12-03-2004, 08:16 PM
Ok. I just got a great deal on a fairly new stove. It is a newer model with a 4 pronged plug. My apartment has a 3 prong outlet. My question is how difficult is it to switch the outlet? Is it simple, or do they have to rewire back to the breaker? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Phobia
12-03-2004, 08:19 PM
Easiest thing to do is replace the cord to the back of the stove. It will cost about $12 for you to DIY.

KCFalcon59
12-03-2004, 08:27 PM
Easiest thing to do is replace the cord to the back of the stove. It will cost about $12 for you to DIY.

Thanks! That sounds easy enough. I try to stay away from electricity. I am liable to f*ck it up, burn the whole complex down. I'd hate to do that.

Dave Lane
12-03-2004, 10:05 PM
Easiest thing to do is replace the cord to the back of the stove. It will cost about $12 for you to DIY.

Phil is right its very easy.

Dave

ChiefsFire
12-03-2004, 10:33 PM
is the stove 220???

Skip Towne
12-03-2004, 10:52 PM
Not to contradict anybody here but those outlets (and plugins) are for specific voltages. I wouldnt be changing those cords. You might shoot 220v to something intended for 110v.

MonroeChief
12-03-2004, 10:58 PM
The four pronged plugs typically have an extra line in it for a ground wire. Typically 220 VAC has a grounded neutral. Some places don't ground the neutral, but do supply a ground wire aside from the typical connection.

What I would do is go to the guy that sold you the equipment and ask him for the proper connection for your apartment. If he has a problem with that I'd check the tags on the equipment and ensure that the voltage is correct and not an import that is wired for a different voltage and phase arrangement.

Phobia is somewhat correct if the voltage is a match. But be careful to make sure you are grounded properly. A inadequate ground can cause you to have a very bad day.

List the specifications on the tag and I think I can guide you in the right direction. I'm at work and have all of the electrical supply catalogs on the shelf over the computer. I probably have the right stuff in the parts crib, but I'm probably not too close to where you live.

Skip Towne
12-03-2004, 11:01 PM
Easiest thing to do is replace the cord to the back of the stove. It will cost about $12 for you to DIY.

You're an idiot, Phobia. Shut up when you don't know WTF you're talking about. I hate you and I'm not going to miss you at all.

chief52
12-03-2004, 11:15 PM
is the stove 220???

Exactly...You need to check what voltage the stove is designed for. Most stoves, especially newer ones, are designed for 220. I would almost guarantee you have a 220 stove. Not a big problem, you will just have to get another hot leg wired to the plug that feeds the stove. Do NOT cut the plug.

Check the "name plate". It will tell you exactly what voltage you are dealing with. It will be a tag with the manufacture, serial number, voltage, etc......

Skip Towne
12-04-2004, 12:22 AM
You're an idiot, Phobia. Shut up when you don't know WTF you're talking about. I hate you and I'm not going to miss you at all.
Hey, this is great. I just sit here getting drunk while my post count goes up. F*ck'n magic!!

KcMizzou
12-04-2004, 12:24 AM
Hey, this is great. I just sit here getting drunk while my post count goes up. F*ck'n magic!!ROFL

And he sounds just like you!

ROFL

Skip Towne
12-04-2004, 12:28 AM
ROFL

And he sounds just like you!

ROFL
I hope it keeps up. I'm going to bed but I can't wait to check my post count in the morning. I might not like my rep total though.

KcMizzou
12-04-2004, 12:30 AM
I hope it keeps up. I'm going to bed but I can't wait to check my post count in the morning. I might not like my rep total though. I'll do my best to balance it out. ;)

Miles
12-04-2004, 12:31 AM
I hope it keeps up. I'm going to bed but I can't wait to check my post count in the morning. I might not like my rep total though.

Good luck with the nurses.

KCFalcon59
12-04-2004, 07:54 AM
the stove will be brought over to me either today or tomorrow. I am pretty sure it is 220. I will check the nameplate and get the specifics then.

Bwana
12-04-2004, 08:43 AM
the stove will be brought over to me either today or tomorrow. I am pretty sure it is 220. I will check the nameplate and get the specifics then.

That would be wise, or it could turn into "A Monday" really fast.

Earthling
12-04-2004, 08:53 AM
Shouldn't you be able to tell just by looking at the cord..??

Frankie
12-04-2004, 09:09 AM
Easiest thing to do is replace the cord to the back of the stove. It will cost about $12 for you to DIY.

:clap: :thumb:
He's not an electrician. But he stayed at the Holliday in last night.

Frankie
12-04-2004, 09:10 AM
is the stove 220???
Aren't all? :shrug:

Frankie
12-04-2004, 09:13 AM
You're an idiot, Phobia. Shut up when you don't know WTF you're talking about. I hate you and I'm not going to miss you at all.

ROFL
All the hostility because he punched your ticket to the elderly house? ;)

Frankie
12-04-2004, 09:16 AM
Hey, this is great. I just sit here getting drunk while my post count goes up. F*ck'n magic!!

DAMN!! I fell for it again. Quit that Phob. %(/

Frankie
12-04-2004, 09:20 AM
DAMN!! I fell for it again. Quit that Phob. %(/

Skip,
why don't you change your password, dude? :shrug:

unlurking
12-04-2004, 10:01 AM
Shouldn't you be able to tell just by looking at the cord..??
Yes.

I don't know what all these ninnies are whining about. A 220 3-prong looks NOTHING like a 110 3-prong.

Besides, the stove is the new 220 4-prong ALREADY. If it is 4-prong, it sure as hell ain't 110.

All you need to fix it is a screw driver and a new plug.

Frankie
12-04-2004, 10:12 AM
Yes.

I don't know what all these ninnies are whining about. A 220 3-prong looks NOTHING like a 110 3-prong.

Besides, the stove is the new 220 4-prong ALREADY. If it is 4-prong, it sure as hell ain't 110.

All you need to fix it is a screw driver and a new plug.

Ding ding ding ding........ WE HAVE A WINNER! :clap:

Phobia
12-04-2004, 10:30 AM
Yes.

I don't know what all these ninnies are whining about. A 220 3-prong looks NOTHING like a 110 3-prong.

Besides, the stove is the new 220 4-prong ALREADY. If it is 4-prong, it sure as hell ain't 110.

All you need to fix it is a screw driver and a new plug.

The ninnies are probably professionals who are paid to worry about it. Everybody who is saying "just do it" are the amateurs who have done it themselves a time or two.

KCF59, there's nothing to worry about. The only difference is the "built-in" ground.

chiefs4me
12-04-2004, 11:36 AM
The ninnies are probably professionals who are paid to worry about it. Everybody who is saying "just do it" are the amateurs who have done it themselves a time or two.

KCF59, there's nothing to worry about. The only difference is the "built-in" ground.


SO do YOU know everything?:hmmm:

Fairplay
12-04-2004, 11:40 AM
SO do YOU know everything?:hmmm:




I think hes well rounded in a lot of catagorys, chiefs4me.

Phobia
12-04-2004, 11:47 AM
SO do YOU know everything?:hmmm:

Nah - I don't know everything. Not even close. I have a surprising amount of talents and skills for an idiot like myself.

Considering my current occupation, my past occupation, and the fact that I've done this for my own appliances, I think I'm qualified to answer.

Electricians and appliance specialists are naturally going to be a little analytical in this situation. I'm not saying caution isn't prudent in this situation. But, I believe that this is a simple fix.

Does that answer your question?

Phobia
12-04-2004, 11:48 AM
I think hes well rounded in a lot of catagorys, chiefs4me.

Heh, heh - surely you kid.

But, speaking of well rounded.... :dom:

Fairplay
12-04-2004, 11:51 AM
Heh, heh - surely you kid.

But, speaking of well rounded.... :dom:




Ah, a womens most secretive thing she wants a man to do, and to do well.

Skip Towne
12-04-2004, 11:53 AM
Skip,
why don't you change your password, dude? :shrug:
Yeah, like he couldn't get it. Besides, it's fun.

chiefs4me
12-04-2004, 11:54 AM
Nah - I don't know everything. Not even close. I have a surprising amount of talents and skills for an idiot like myself.

Considering my current occupation, my past occupation, and the fact that I've done this for my own appliances, I think I'm qualified to answer.

Electricians and appliance specialists are naturally going to be a little analytical in this situation. I'm not saying caution isn't prudent in this situation. But, I believe that this is a simple fix.

Does that answer your question?


I guess,,,,so are you packed and ready for texas? Maybe if you finish early you can swing by and finish my fence,,,,ROFL

chiefs4me
12-04-2004, 11:55 AM
Ah, a womens most secretive thing she wants a man to do, and to do well.


oh really,,,,enlighten me fairplay

Fairplay
12-04-2004, 11:57 AM
oh really,,,,enlighten me fairplay




Wel you can start by quit with the comma business. But you won't listen to anyone. So if no one can enlighten you on that, how can i teach you anything else?

Phobia
12-04-2004, 11:59 AM
Yeah, like he couldn't get it. Besides, it's fun.

Actually, I can't. I could initiate a changed password and log into anybody's account, but then you would know something is up.

Besides, I was only logging into his account to help him troubleshoot. Once I got in, I needed to have a little fun with it. I knew Skip would enjoy it.

I've forgotten the password and won't be doing it again unless somebody emails their password to me. :D

Phobia
12-04-2004, 12:00 PM
I guess,,,,so are you packed and ready for texas? Maybe if you finish early you can swing by and finish my fence,,,,ROFL

Not yet. I have all weekend. You couldn't afford me.

Count Alex's Losses
12-04-2004, 12:01 PM
Actually, I can't. I could initiate a changed password and log into anybody's account, but then you would know something is up.

Besides, I was only logging into his account to help him troubleshoot. Once I got in, I needed to have a little fun with it. I knew Skip would enjoy it.

I've forgotten the password and won't be doing it again unless somebody emails their password to me. :D

Like you don't already know my password.

Phobia
12-04-2004, 12:04 PM
Like you don't already know my password.

Since I doubt I know how to spell Bubba Fet, no.

Count Alex's Losses
12-04-2004, 12:12 PM
Since I doubt I know how to spell Bubba Fet, no.

You know my birthday. I thought for sure you had my password memorized.

It's not even Star Wars related. I bet no one on this forum could guess it in a thousand years.

Phobia
12-04-2004, 12:15 PM
You know my birthday. I thought for sure you had my password memorized.

It's not even Star Wars related. I bet no one on this forum could guess it in a thousand years.

I know your birthday only because you're a moron. You kept signing up for your mystery ID's with the correct personal information. When somebody signs up for the board, I get an email with everything you input into your profile. That does not include passwords.

ChiefsFire
12-04-2004, 01:03 PM
Aren't all? :shrug:


true most stoves are 220 but not all houses have 220 recpts. where the stove should go my current house only has your standard grounded 110 but i wanted electric stove had to pull new wire for it might have been easier to stay with gas,but the g/f HAD to have HER electric stove :banghead:

Skip Towne
12-04-2004, 01:10 PM
Nah - I don't know everything. Not even close. I have a surprising amount of talents and skills for an idiot like myself.

Considering my current occupation, my past occupation, and the fact that I've done this for my own appliances, I think I'm qualified to answer.

Electricians and appliance specialists are naturally going to be a little analytical in this situation. I'm not saying caution isn't prudent in this situation. But, I believe that this is a simple fix.

Does that answer your question?
This from the guy who stuck a screwdriver into 30,000v. on the back of a monitor. Now THAT'S experience. Phil's a nice guy but I think he's related to Tim the Tool Man.

Frankie
12-04-2004, 01:53 PM
Like you don't already know my password.

Elementary my dear Watson...

Since your username is "UserName", it stands to reason that your password is "PassWord."

Count Alex's Losses
12-04-2004, 01:55 PM
Elementary my dear Watson...

Since your username is "UserName", it stands to reason that your password is "PassWord."

HO HO

NO.

Phobia
12-04-2004, 02:03 PM
This from the guy who stuck a screwdriver into 30,000v. on the back of a monitor. Now THAT'S experience. Phil's a nice guy but I think he's related to Tim the Tool Man.

I was 20. I've had plenty of learning experiences since then.

chiefs4me
12-04-2004, 02:26 PM
Not yet. I have all weekend. You couldn't afford me.


Who said I was paying.

Frankie
12-04-2004, 02:27 PM
HO HO

NO.

You WOULD say that to keep me from using your "PassWord," "UserName."

go bowe
12-04-2004, 03:42 PM
I was 20. I've had plenty of learning experiences since then.30,000 volts?

i don't think i've heard that story...

since the search function is non-functional, could somebody fill us in on that story? :shrug: :shrug: :shrug:

MonroeChief
12-04-2004, 03:56 PM
This from the guy who stuck a screwdriver into 30,000v. on the back of a monitor. Now THAT'S experience. Phil's a nice guy but I think he's related to Tim the Tool Man.

That's pretty close to right with the exception that Tim was always funny.

Phobia
12-04-2004, 04:19 PM
That's pretty close to right with the exception that Tim was always funny.

You're still a noob. I'll grow on you. Maybe. Or not. But, if I don't, just let me know so I can ban you. A prerequisite of membership here is that you must laugh at my material. I hope you read that in the users agreement.

Phobia
12-04-2004, 04:19 PM
Who said I was paying.

Like I said.... you can't afford me.

Phobia
12-04-2004, 04:21 PM
30,000 volts?

i don't think i've heard that story...

since the search function is non-functional, could somebody fill us in on that story? :shrug: :shrug: :shrug:

Simple story. I figured since I knew how to repair computers, I also knew how to repair TV's. Don't do that. There's a capacitor that stores voltage whether plugged in or not. I kinda got zapped.

go bowe
12-04-2004, 04:21 PM
You're still a noob. I'll grow on you. Maybe. Or not. But, if I don't, just let me know so I can ban you. A prerequisite of membership here is that you must laugh at my material. I hope you read that in the users agreement.that would be all well and good if you had some material... :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Phobia
12-04-2004, 04:23 PM
that would be all well and good if you had some material... :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I have 36,000 posts chock full of material. You can't find stuff like this just anywhere. Letterman has been bothering me for years to join his staff.

KCFalcon59
12-04-2004, 05:31 PM
Well I got the stove. Should be simple. It's got the directions for a 3 prong and 4 prong hookup on the back of the stove. Thanks for all the help and advice.

:thumb:

MonroeChief
12-04-2004, 06:00 PM
You're still a noob. I'll grow on you. Maybe. Or not. But, if I don't, just let me know so I can ban you. A prerequisite of membership here is that you must laugh at my material. I hope you read that in the users agreement.

You are going to have to try harder, nothing funny yet.

Count Alex's Losses
12-04-2004, 06:03 PM
You are going to have to try harder, nothing funny yet.

Shut the **** up, seriously.

chiefs4me
12-04-2004, 06:05 PM
Like I said.... you can't afford me.


Afford you or the ego;)

Skip Towne
12-04-2004, 06:10 PM
Simple story. I figured since I knew how to repair computers, I also knew how to repair TV's. Don't do that. There's a capacitor that stores voltage whether plugged in or not. I kinda got zapped.
It's the picture tube itself that acts as a giant capacitor. Even after you discharge it, all the other smaller components drain their "electric" into it so it can bite you a 2nd time. That rubber boot is called the 2nd anode.

MonroeChief
12-04-2004, 06:12 PM
Shut the **** up, seriously.

What's the bug up your ass? I was talking with the other guy.

chiefs4me
12-04-2004, 06:14 PM
oh let me go get some popcorn and pull up a chair,,,,

Ok user,,,,,your turn

Skip Towne
12-04-2004, 06:15 PM
What's the bug up your ass? I was talking with the other guy.
That's just GoChiefs. He's trying to make friends with you. He's really good with people.

go bowe
12-04-2004, 06:24 PM
I have 36,000 posts chock full of material. You can't find stuff like this just anywhere. Letterman has been bothering me for years to join his staff.actually, letterman could probably use some of your stuff...

his isn't too good these days...

Phobia
12-04-2004, 08:07 PM
You are going to have to try harder, nothing funny yet.

I had a hard time making my uptight, slutty ex-wife laugh, too. I'm sure you'll be personally offended by my herpes material as well.

PastorMikH
12-04-2004, 08:09 PM
So, did you get the thing wired yet?

Baby Lee
12-04-2004, 08:13 PM
actually, letterman could probably use some of your stuff...

his isn't too good these days...
On a related note, Conan is back to early evening previous night syndication. Now on MSNBC at 6 CST.

2bikemike
12-04-2004, 08:13 PM
That's just GoChiefs. He's trying to make friends with you. He's really good with people.

But he is best with women. Real smooooth.

KCFalcon59
12-04-2004, 08:20 PM
So, did you get the thing wired yet?

Not yet. Will do it tomorrow after the games.

Phobia
12-04-2004, 08:24 PM
Not yet. Will do it tomorrow after the games.

That's a great idea. It will end up throw out on the lawn in pieces.

KCFalcon59
12-04-2004, 08:33 PM
That's a great idea. It will end up throw out on the lawn in pieces.

Nah. I'm passed getting that pissed over the Chiefs. Right now I just get mad, but I am not gonna break anything over them. Now if a playoff game was riding on it, I would definitely wait till I cooled off.

Count Alex's Losses
12-04-2004, 08:35 PM
But he is best with women. Real smooooth.

I'm a smooth criminal.