PDA

View Full Version : Firefox users with broadband: nice change to speed things up


Ultra Peanut
01-17-2005, 11:25 AM
Here's something for broadband people that will really speed Firefox up:

1. Type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

network.http.pipelining
network.http.proxy.pipelining
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really speeds up page loading.

2. Alter the entries as follows:

Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"

Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"

Set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0". This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it recieves.

If you're using a broadband connection you'll load pages 2-3 times faster now.It really makes a big difference.

ENDelt260
01-17-2005, 11:26 AM
I remember Saulbadguy posting that pipelining bit awhile back... wonder if my setting is still correct.

Ultra Peanut
01-17-2005, 11:29 AM
ur seting is worng and o now tihs cuz i is a l337 hax0m0ra73r

Saulbadguy
01-17-2005, 07:08 PM
If you have a shitty internet connection DO NOT DO THIS.

I tried this at work, where we have a piece of shit T1 line divided amongst thousands of users, and I constantly had problems with image layouts and things like that.

Phobia
01-18-2005, 12:18 AM
This didn't help me at all. But, I never had any complaints anyway.

KCFalcon59
03-05-2005, 06:32 PM
I updated firefox the other day. I thought about this thread and decided to check to see if the settings were changed. For some reason they were set back to previous values.

Don't know if it was just my machine or not. Just a heads up for others to check.

theultimatekcchiefsfan
03-06-2005, 11:01 PM
Check out firefox tweaker program. I havent tried it yet, but I am downloading right now.

http://www.emilsoft.net/modules/products/?select=firetweaker

theultimatekcchiefsfan
03-06-2005, 11:07 PM
Good luck installing. Says you need .NET, but wont let me install it.

Mr. Laz
03-07-2005, 11:25 AM
Good luck installing. Says you need .NET, but wont let me install it.

installed fine for me ... love the appearance tweaks but didn't do anything for speed.