PDA

View Full Version : DVD recording question.


Dave Lane
01-18-2005, 02:43 PM
I have a DVD burner and some DVD RW discs. Trouble is I want to record a 2 hour show onto the DVD and it says it is too large. Am I recording at too high a resolution as the DVD shows 4480 MB available or do I need to do some compression / manipulation first?

Thanks guys

Dave

wutamess
01-18-2005, 02:45 PM
Help Desk question! j/k

Assuming this is a home video or something. You can only get 1 hour worth of data on a DVD from a video camera.

Aside from that... You'll probably have to use a thrid party program to compress it and lower the video quality such as a DVD aurthoring program like Pinnacle Studio.

Douche Baggins
01-18-2005, 02:47 PM
2 hours will definitely fit. I have several Chiefs games sans commercials on DVD.

I use TMPEGNC 5 in 1 to fulfill all my DVD authoring needs, including compressing the MPEG files (DVD video files).

Kris Kringle
01-18-2005, 02:48 PM
I have the same problem with my TiVo. I bought a new TiVo that has a DVD burner. It's really cool. But I'm not happy that a 2 hr. movie recorded at high quality takes 3 DVDs. I want to know the answer to this too.

PastorMikH
01-18-2005, 02:50 PM
Thanks to Saul's recomendation, I use this: http://www.dvdshrink.org/


It's a free download and will rip DVDs. I have also stored stuff on my HD then had it shrink the file, then burn. Give it a try.

Douche Baggins
01-18-2005, 02:52 PM
DVD Shrink won't compress MPEG files, which is what these guys are talking about if I'm not mistaken.

wutamess
01-18-2005, 02:52 PM
Thanks to Saul's recomendation, I use this: http://www.dvdshrink.org/


It's a free download and will rip DVDs. I have also stored stuff on my HD then had it shrink the file, then burn. Give it a try.

Haven't used it but I've heard it does wonders also.

Dave Lane
01-18-2005, 03:01 PM
I'm using a PC / Tivo with Windows Media Center 2005. Any ideas where the recorded media files are at?

Dave

wutamess
01-18-2005, 03:03 PM
My Documents maybe?
Never worked with media center or your setup.

That's the first place I'd look though... My documents folder.

Saulbadguy
01-18-2005, 03:04 PM
DVD Shrink won't compress MPEG files, which is what these guys are talking about if I'm not mistaken.
It will compress DVD movies, which IS what these guys are talking about.

Douche Baggins
01-18-2005, 03:06 PM
It will compress DVD movies, which IS what these guys are talking about.

Yeah, but one of the posts is talking about video captured from a video camera...I don't think that comes in ready-made-easy-to-use DVD format.

Dave Lane
01-18-2005, 03:08 PM
My Documents maybe?
Never worked with media center or your setup.

That's the first place I'd look though... My documents folder.

Nope...

Dave

Dave Lane
01-18-2005, 03:10 PM
Yeah, but one of the posts is talking about video captured from a video camera...I don't think that comes in ready-made-easy-to-use DVD format.

This is recorded from cable mpg2 files and can burn to disk but a 2 hour show is too large. It gives no option for multi-disk either. And i can't find the raw files arrghh.

Dave

Chiefnj
01-18-2005, 03:11 PM
I'm using a PC / Tivo with Windows Media Center 2005. Any ideas where the recorded media files are at?

Dave


I'm in the market for a new pc/media center.

How do you like Windows Media Center and what type of computer do you have? Thanks.

Dave Lane
01-18-2005, 03:13 PM
Found the video files....

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\Recorded TV

Dave

Dave Lane
01-18-2005, 03:15 PM
Goat,

Is tmpgenc worth the $48?

Dave

Dave Lane
01-18-2005, 03:20 PM
I'm in the market for a new pc/media center.

How do you like Windows Media Center and what type of computer do you have? Thanks.

Very cool I'm actually using it right now to reply to you while recording a show. My Tivo with lifetime warranty is unplugged and hasn't been on in a month.

I can play a game, hop over here, watch DVDs, or recorded or live TV without leaving my bed. Thanks to wireless keyboard / mouse and network this works slicker than snot on a concrete floor. You can use 2 tuners if you want to record 2 shows at once. I have a 30" LCD HD TV so i use the TV input if I want to watch a show other than what I am recording.

Dave

Saulbadguy
01-18-2005, 04:09 PM
Goat,

Is tmpgenc worth the $48?

Dave
Its free. It should be, at least.

Dave Lane
01-18-2005, 04:14 PM
Its free. It should be, at least.

Its free for 30 days then $48.

Dave