PDA

View Full Version : Divorce is a bitch

BIG_DADDY
02-03-2005, 03:52 PM
As many of you know I am a wealth manager and advisor to senior executives of high technology companies. I have like 5 potential clients going through divorces now so I can't move forward with them. Some of their stories make me wonder how in the world they keep from killing them. It amazes me that a woman can get millions and still want more when she never earned a cent of what they have. One guy has been going through this for 18 months now. After being a nice guy and giving her half of everything they saved over the time they have been together she said it wasn't enough and wanted half of everything he had when they entered the marriage even though she is not entitled to any of that and didn't bring a damn thing to the marriage. He knows she knows this but had to provide a discovery for 15 years anyway. What he kept is being gobbled up in attorney fees now. By the time were done I just hope he has enough left to work with us still. I can't believe anyone would treat somebody they vowed to spend the rest of their life with in this fashion. It's not just this guy, I have 5 going through their own nightmares I just chose to tell this guys story. I don't know why anyone would ever get married without a prenup these days no matter how much they love someone. How bout you guys, any horror stories here at the planet?

BIG_DADDY
02-03-2005, 03:54 PM
Oh yea and I was reading this the other day, what a crock.

When Is a Wedding Not a Wedding?

TAMPA (AP) ó Beth Rice stood in front of 50 guests last summer in a Las Vegas wedding chapel, went through a traditional Jewish ceremony with her boyfriend Stanley Blacker and then headed off on their honeymoon.

But when Rice's ex-husband sought to end his $5,000 a month alimony payments because she had remarried, Rice argued that what happened in Vegas stayed in Vegas ó that she and Blacker never took out a license, so, technically, they aren't married.