PDA

View Full Version : DVD Shrink Question


KCWolfman
03-06-2005, 07:48 PM
Many of you use DVD Shrink and Nero in tandem and state you have no issues with encryption. With 75% of my movies I have backed up, me either. But occassionally I receive a message from Shrink stated the disk is encrypted and cannot continue.

I have a work around as I use DVD Encrypter when the issue occurs, but I would rather just use one program. Is there a way to defeat the error message above with Shrink or am I relegated to using Encrypter on those instances?

Saulbadguy
03-06-2005, 07:49 PM
What version are you using of Shrink? Try updating to the latest version , if you aren't already.

Also, i've gotten that message when the disk is scratched.

KCWolfman
03-06-2005, 07:52 PM
What version are you using of Shrink? Try updating to the latest version , if you aren't already.

Also, i've gotten that message when the disk is scratched.
New disks and the version is 3.2, which is the latest they note on their website.

Saulbadguy
03-06-2005, 07:55 PM
Do you have another DVD-Rom you could try? Are you ripping it on a DVD-ROM or your burner itself? If its the burner, can you upgrade your firmware?

I'm not implying that the DVD-ROM might be bad, but some drives have issues reading certain types of discs.

KCWolfman
03-06-2005, 08:01 PM
Do you have another DVD-Rom you could try? Are you ripping it on a DVD-ROM or your burner itself? If its the burner, can you upgrade your firmware?

I'm not implying that the DVD-ROM might be bad, but some drives have issues reading certain types of discs.
Two separate ROMs, same error message on both.

I drop the compressed file to a folder in My Documents and then burn from there.

I will check the updates on both burners, but that doesn't seem likely.

Saulbadguy
03-06-2005, 08:02 PM
Very curious indeed. Ah well, good luck.

KCWolfman
03-06-2005, 08:15 PM
Very curious indeed. Ah well, good luck.
I just downloaded the "U" version for an upgrade on my dual burner. I was at the "M" version.

Perhaps that will make the difference, thanks.

morphius
03-06-2005, 09:29 PM
Hmmm, maybe if you used Firefox, LOL!

I haven't burned enough to know, but a buddy of mine seemed to have an issue with Monster Inc with it, seemed like the 4th time it worked though.

Baby Lee
03-07-2005, 12:18 PM
Are these newer releases?
Saw a blurb about the people behind Macrovision being on the move to keep encryption/protection/degredation ahead of the decrypters. Some of the newer releases have new encryption protocols.

EDIT - here's the story - http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1558,1764945,00.asp

Here's where I first read about it - http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?threadid=509819&highlight=macrovision

dirk digler
03-07-2005, 12:25 PM
Are these newer releases?
Saw a blurb about the people behind Macrovision being on the move to keep encryption/protection/degredation ahead of the decrypters. Some of the newer releases have new encryption protocols.

It wouldn't surprise me the dirty bastages! Anyway I haven't had any trouble "backing up" ;) any new releases. I am anxiously waiting to "back up" Ladder 49 tomorrow.

BTW - I have full faith in the Internet community to defeat whatever copyright protections the MPAA or RIAA try to use.

KCWolfman
03-08-2005, 06:16 PM
Are these newer releases?
Saw a blurb about the people behind Macrovision being on the move to keep encryption/protection/degredation ahead of the decrypters. Some of the newer releases have new encryption protocols.

EDIT - here's the story - http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1558,1764945,00.asp

Here's where I first read about it - http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?threadid=509819&highlight=macrovision
No, honestly I am backing up my old stuff. I have a bunch of Hong Kong releases that never have issues, but my American stuff seems to clog every now and then.

The rub is that I don't know if it worked until it actually doesn't work.