PDA

View Full Version : Any WinMX users? Cable modem issue....


C-Mac
03-17-2005, 04:55 PM
I finally got broadband today and was all excited to use WinMX to download some me new tunes for the library. Well I used the MX setup wizard and removed the old program, downloded the latest update and still can "find network connection". I tried turning off my firewall even though thru the phone modem it wasnt an issue. The WinMX help page is gone.....so anyone???????

Otter
03-17-2005, 05:24 PM
I've never used the program but an educated guess from working with software would be to make sure it's not trying to access a proxy.

C-Mac
03-17-2005, 07:53 PM
I've never used the program but an educated guess from working with software would be to make sure it's not trying to access a proxy.

In english that means......help?

htismaqe
03-18-2005, 05:54 AM
A proxy is a server/host that functions on behalf of another host.

For example, at a place I worked we used a web proxy. We allowed access to the internet from ONLY the web proxy. All users browsed the web by connecting to the web proxy, and then the proxy requested web pages on their behalf.

Make sure in your WinMX settings they you don't have it setup to use a proxy.

C-Mac
03-18-2005, 08:20 AM
A proxy is a server/host that functions on behalf of another host.

For example, at a place I worked we used a web proxy. We allowed access to the internet from ONLY the web proxy. All users browsed the web by connecting to the web proxy, and then the proxy requested web pages on their behalf.

Make sure in your WinMX settings they you don't have it setup to use a proxy.

I was checked properly.
It also just started logging on, but when I did a search sometimes it was like it couldnt get on then other times the search went thru. Over all its still very inconsistent as compared to when I used it thru the phone line.

htismaqe
03-18-2005, 08:59 AM
I was checked properly.
It also just started logging on, but when I did a search sometimes it was like it couldnt get on then other times the search went thru. Over all its still very inconsistent as compared to when I used it thru the phone line.

That's odd. Intermittent errors could be a great many things.

KC Jones
03-19-2005, 07:51 AM
That's odd. Intermittent errors could be a great many things.


Indeed. C-Mac, do you have intermittent errors or sometimes slow connections for everything online? You'd need to check every connection between your PC and the line going to the pole in that case.

C-Mac
03-19-2005, 08:10 AM
What I did to help the situation was at log on, I chose on connection type "make a secondary connection" that more for phone line users instead of "primary connection" which is for broadband users and this seemed to help with the "empty always searching" searches. Its still tricky on downloads in the sense of it shows great availabilty and speed vs. but actually downloading it is something else.

dirk digler
03-19-2005, 09:04 AM
Make sure you set the WinMX connection to primary connection.

I have a cable modem with ZoneAlarm and have not had any problems at all.

C-Mac
03-19-2005, 11:45 AM
Make sure you set the WinMX connection to primary connection.

I have a cable modem with ZoneAlarm and have not had any problems at all.

Well I had done that at first and it was slow to log on and the search engines never seemed to post. I have broadband that averages 4Mps so I think I'm fast enough.

C-Mac
03-19-2005, 12:18 PM
Do you have a suggestion on what I should have my bandwith settings at on WinMX?

DenverChief
03-19-2005, 12:18 PM
What I did to help the situation was at log on, I chose on connection type "make a secondary connection" that more for phone line users instead of "primary connection" which is for broadband users and this seemed to help with the "empty always searching" searches. Its still tricky on downloads in the sense of it shows great availabilty and speed vs. but actually downloading it is something else.


I have have had cable/dsl for a couple of years and have never been able to make a primary connection

htismaqe
03-20-2005, 06:42 AM
Perhaps WinMX has problems with NAT traversal?

Alot of cable modem providers (mine included) uses non-routable, private addresses on their networks and use network address translation at the head-end.

dirk digler
03-21-2005, 04:36 PM
Do you have a suggestion on what I should have my bandwith settings at on WinMX?

I have never messed with any of the settings I just set mine to Primary Connection and it worked.

Other than that I don't know.

LiL stumppy
03-21-2005, 09:39 PM
Umm make sure firewall is off,and turn it on primary connection.If I were you I would download bearshare at bearshare.com,its free,spy/add-ware free and works almost all the time unlike winmx.

C-Mac
03-21-2005, 09:57 PM
Umm make sure firewall is off,and turn it on primary connection.If I were you I would download bearshare at bearshare.com,its free,spy/add-ware free and works almost all the time unlike winmx.

Thanks for the site tip, do you happen to know where I could download movies?
(g-pg-pg13 type)?

htismaqe
03-22-2005, 06:42 AM
Umm make sure firewall is off,and turn it on primary connection.If I were you I would download bearshare at bearshare.com,its free,spy/add-ware free and works almost all the time unlike winmx.

Um, I hope you're saying that there's a "firewall" setting in WinMX that needs turned off.

Because if you're suggesting he turn off his firewall, I would counter-suggest that he simply not use WinMX.

AutumnBreeze
02-10-2006, 02:53 PM
If you are like I am and are lacking in the "technical skills" department, but at the same time, miss using WinMX (http://www.vladd44.com/mx/), there is a quick, easy and free solution it is called MXPIE (http://www.MXPie.com). There is no spyware or anything else bundled with it. For those a little more savvy and courageous, there is even a manual option.

So come on back to WinMX, and download to your hearts content. Thanks to these updates, not even the power of the RIAA can stop a network.

IF you have downloaded WinMX and still cannot connect, you can even get personalized realtime help. Just go to this link WinMX Channels (http://www.vladd44.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=6514) Copy the Room name appropriate for your Language and paste it into your WinMX chat screen, then press the Join Button. This works on version 3.53 and up even if you are not connected. It allows you to join into chatrooms set up for you to get immediate help.

Everything you need at the MXPIE Website (http://www.MXPie.com) Free and Spyware free.

I have also found a site for Computer problem (http://www.gemini777.net) that is nice, prompt and VERY helpful. If there is a problem you need an answer to, they can help.

Realtime help available for WinMX 3.53 users having trouble getting connected. Go to WinMX Channels (http://www.vladd44.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=6514).