PDA

View Full Version : Neighbor is having some trouble with his new DSL


Claynus
04-09-2005, 07:22 PM
I went over today to check it out. After cleaning his PC of all the friggin spyware he had on it (ugh!) we went through the YAHOO SBC install and setup....it can't detect the modem.

I'm going over tomorrow with my own modem and CD to see what happens but I'm betting he got a dud modem? It's one of those crappy speedstream modems.

KCWolfman
04-09-2005, 09:22 PM
Remove the modem from the hardware profile, turn off the PC. Physically remove the modem and try a different slot.

KCWolfman
04-09-2005, 09:23 PM
Remove the modem from the hardware profile, turn off the PC. Physically remove the modem and try a different slot.
Unless you mean an external modem from the dealer, and at that point, just return the modem to the dealer and get another.

Claynus
04-09-2005, 09:53 PM
Unless you mean an external modem from the dealer, and at that point, just return the modem to the dealer and get another.

Precisely. An external DSL modem, not a modem card.

htismaqe
04-10-2005, 06:10 AM
Is it a USB modem made by ActionTec by any chance?

I bought 2 of them a while back for $3 each. I have the drivers.

Claynus
04-10-2005, 02:06 PM
Is it a USB modem made by ActionTec by any chance?

I bought 2 of them a while back for $3 each. I have the drivers.

No it's a Speedstream.