PDA

View Full Version : Rosetta Stone :: For those with young kids or those who want to learn...


Ari Chi3fs
04-29-2005, 08:55 AM
www.rosettastone.com is amazing.

With over 28 languages to choose from, you can learn basically any language you want. And for certain CP members, you can even learn English!

This program is fuggin awesome. I found a couple torrents for the Chinese 1 and 2 level, Spanish 1 and 2, and Arabic 1 and 2.

My son has been learning Chinese and his comprehension is really getting there. Plus, he loves it. He wants to "play" chinese on the computer.

heh. Future business mogul right there.

anyway, check it out

http://www.rosettastone.com/ind/free_demo/online

WilliamTheIrish
04-29-2005, 10:32 AM
That's frappin' awesome.

I'm having more trouble by the day communicating with Mexican nationals that bring their kids in to the hospital. I picked up a Spanish/English translator last month in an effort to do better.

But this is much, much better.

Saulbadguy
04-29-2005, 10:45 AM
Cool. I'll try and find the Hebrew one tonight. I can read the letters and recognize some words, I just don't know what most of it means.

Ari Chi3fs
04-29-2005, 11:41 AM
Yeah this thing is awesome. I have spent at least an hour each night on it, since I got it. The spanish version is very good.

I found an .iso for each of the three languages that I found, so you need Daemon Tools to mount the .iso on a virtual drive.

But I was real close to actually paying for this software, then PirateBay saved the Day.

If anyone finds other languages out there, let me know.

Ari Chi3fs
04-29-2005, 11:45 AM
Cool. I'll try and find the Hebrew one tonight. I can read the letters and recognize some words, I just don't know what most of it means.

I read in a book, that if you chant certain letters of the hebrew language near the sand, that the vibration of that letter will vibrationally create that letter in the sand.

Of course, it could be BS, but it is Gods language, and certain sounds do create interesting vibrational patterns.

:hmmm:

id like to learn this language as well. Shit, I love languages... In the army I was a Russian Linguist. And according to the DLAB [Defense Language Aptitude Battery Test] that I have a keen ability to pick languages up. Scored 144/150.

This Chinese is a blast though. My kid and I are digging it.

If you have a little kid, Id recommend picking/ downloading a version of this up.

Ultra Peanut
04-29-2005, 11:46 AM
And for certain CP members, you can even learn English!I strongly doubt that.

Ari Chi3fs
04-29-2005, 11:47 AM
I strongly doubt that.

Well you would first need to be a genious... that excludes you, obviously.

Kerberos
04-29-2005, 12:00 PM
I just got done installing this software in one of the Schools in the School district I work at. 40 PC's to be exact. I may have to install it on my OWN PC and see what the deal is.

:hmmm:


.

Ultra Peanut
04-29-2005, 12:00 PM
That is really cool.

Oh, and I apparently kick ass at Dutch.

Saulbadguy
04-29-2005, 12:10 PM
I read in a book, that if you chant certain letters of the hebrew language near the sand, that the vibration of that letter will vibrationally create that letter in the sand.

Of course, it could be BS, but it is Gods language, and certain sounds do create interesting vibrational patterns.

:hmmm:

id like to learn this language as well. Shit, I love languages... In the army I was a Russian Linguist. And according to the DLAB [Defense Language Aptitude Battery Test] that I have a keen ability to pick languages up. Scored 144/150.

This Chinese is a blast though. My kid and I are digging it.

If you have a little kid, Id recommend picking/ downloading a version of this up.
Russian linguist, eh? That would explain it, Pizda. Or should I say..Malchik gay? :hmmm:

I just got hebrew forced upon me as a child. The hard part about reading Hebrew is they don't use vowels in traditional hebrew..you just gotta know what its trying to say based on context or whatnot.

Saulbadguy
04-29-2005, 12:10 PM
I just got done installing this software in one of the Schools in the School district I work at. 40 PC's to be exact. I may have to install it on my OWN PC and see what the deal is.

:hmmm:


.
You work in a school district as well? IT?

Kerberos
04-29-2005, 12:13 PM
You work in a school district as well? IT?


I am PC/Network Tech.

GearyCounty USD475

YOU?




.

Ultra Peanut
04-29-2005, 12:14 PM
Een kat op een olifant in de Nederlands?

Saulbadguy
04-29-2005, 12:16 PM
I am PC/Network Tech.

GearyCounty USD475

YOU?




.
Network Administrator, USD 501 Topeka. Jeez, for some reason I was reminded of the movie "Mighty Ducks 2" when they are all standing around saying who they were, and where they were from. Ignore that part.

What kinda shop do you run? Netware, Windows, Macintosh??

Kerberos
04-29-2005, 12:25 PM
Network Administrator, USD 501 Topeka. Jeez, for some reason I was reminded of the movie "Mighty Ducks 2" when they are all standing around saying who they were, and where they were from. Ignore that part.

What kinda shop do you run? Netware, Windows, Macintosh??


We are in the middle of bringing the whole district up to Layer 3 with Cisco to support IP phones.

We currently have a few schools that are NETWARE only.

Allot of schools that are that are Netware and Domain controlled.

About 3 schools that are DOMAIN only.

This summer is going to be CRAZY because we are going in to each school as a TEAM to conver them ALL one by one to Domain only and NO NOVELL. which means we are going to RE-Image EVERY stinking computer in the school including EVERY LAB. Some schools have 5 wireless lab carts with 30-40 notebooks each. and they all have to be done.

But in the end it will be really nice to have SMS up and running full speed so that there will little IF ANY onsite installation of software and updates.

I was told by fellow techs that I will average 10-20 hours a week overtiime durning the summer.

Don't know whether to be happy or sad over that one !!!

:)



.

Saulbadguy
04-29-2005, 12:27 PM
We are in the middle of bringing the whole district up to Layer 3 with Cisco to support IP phones.

We currently have a few schools that are NETWARE only.

Allot of schools that are that are Netware and Domain controlled.

About 3 schools that are DOMAIN only.

This summer is going to be CRAZY because we are going in to each school as a TEAM to conver them ALL one by one to Domain only and NO NOVELL. which means we are going to RE-Image EVERY stinking computer in the school including EVERY LAB. Some schools have 5 wireless lab carts with 30-40 notebooks each. and they all have to be done.

But in the end it will be really nice to have SMS up and running full speed so that there will little IF ANY onsite installation of software and updates.

I was told by fellow techs that I will average 10-20 hours a week overtiime durning the summer.

Don't know whether to be happy or sad over that one !!!

:)



.
Heh..nice. We are running all Novell, all of our servers are in a central location. We are currently implementing Cisco IP phones. SMS will be nice...we run ZENWorks, which is Novells "SMS". Have fun this summer :D

Kerberos
04-29-2005, 12:40 PM
Heh..nice. We are running all Novell, all of our servers are in a central location. We are currently implementing Cisco IP phones. SMS will be nice...we run ZENWorks, which is Novells "SMS". Have fun this summer :D


Hey Saul ... my boss (Director of Technology) lives in Topeka and drives back and forth everyday.

He has been around computers and alike for 25 years and had worked for some HUGE companies. He has made the claim that the USD475 has the LARGEST Cisco routed network in the State if Kansas.

Every School has a fiber link to the Administration Center here where I work. We have an OC3 line that is the backbone for the whole district.

According to the boss once we get all the layer 3 conversions done we will be reworking our lines through sprint and in turn will give EACH school the equivelant to a FULL T-1 line and the HighSchool will be broken up into 3 sections and will have the equivelent of 3 FULL T-1 lines all routed with Cisco equipment. I just started a little over a month ago so I don't have all the details on what types of equipment we are replacing the old stuff with but I heard it was going to be top of the line.

Later man

Cliff



.

Ultra Peanut
04-29-2005, 12:43 PM
You guys do realize that you have destroyed what could have been a neat thread, right?

Kerberos
04-29-2005, 12:46 PM
You guys do realize that you have destroyed what could have been a neat thread, right?


Sorry man .... I guess I need to STFU


:D



Sometimes I just get on a roll and forget about the topic.

:banghead:



.

Saulbadguy
04-29-2005, 12:46 PM
Hey Saul ... my boss (Director of Technology) lives in Topeka and drives back and forth everyday.

He has been around computers and alike for 25 years and had worked for some HUGE companies. He has made the claim that the USD475 has the LARGEST Cisco routed network in the State if Kansas.

Every School has a fiber link to the Administration Center here where I work. We have an OC3 line that is the backbone for the whole district.

According to the boss once we get all the layer 3 conversions done we will be reworking our lines through sprint and in turn will give EACH school the equivelant to a FULL T-1 line and the HighSchool will be broken up into 3 sections and will have the equivelent of 3 FULL T-1 lines all routed with Cisco equipment. I just started a little over a month ago so I don't have all the details on what types of equipment we are replacing the old stuff with but I heard it was going to be top of the line.

Later man

Cliff



.


Hmm..largest? How many nodes do you think you have? We have around 6,000 PC's on a city wide fiber network. (OC-3 I believe). As for our internet...we have 3 T1's. I think thats pretty low..our internet bandwidth is terrible. I'm not in to all the switches/routers stuff...i'm more of a Directory services/NOS guy.

Kerberos
04-29-2005, 12:47 PM
We have 2 network Admins ... ONE is CCNA and does all Cisco routing and IP phones ... The other is the windows and Novell Admin.

If I am not mistaken it isn't the nodes that are counted, its the Cisco equipment that is being use in EVERY school. The fiber Switch that is in each school as well as the switches that are located in different parts of each shool are all in the count. The 2 middle schools alone have 6-10 switches each along with the Fiber switch.

Its not just Junction City and Milford ... We have Ft.Riley schools too (5 elementary shcools and 1 middle school)

I will STFU now cause I am ruining this thread. :D

Herzig
04-29-2005, 01:08 PM
We use Rosetta Stone at our middle school(for years) to help our hispanic kids learn English. It's a great resource.

Ultra Peanut
04-29-2005, 01:35 PM
Its not just Junction City and Milford Are you a Milford man?

Buster's a Milford man.

Ari Chi3fs
04-29-2005, 01:43 PM
We use Rosetta Stone at our middle school(for years) to help our hispanic kids learn English. It's a great resource.

You are from Arkansas.... so it probably helps the Red necks learn English as well. Oh yeah!

Kerberos
04-29-2005, 01:48 PM
Are you a Milford man?

Buster's a Milford man.


I do allot of Jetskiing on Milford Lake (The Largest Lake in Kansas) :)


No .... I'm a Juinction City born and raised HOMEBOY !


Who da hell is BUSTER ? :hmmm:



.

Ari Chi3fs
05-03-2005, 03:48 PM
wuh kwai schwa ee derar po tan kwa.

Phonetic Chinese baby. This shit owns.

I also found a torrent for Pimsleur Chinese audio series... equivelant of 45 cds of Chinese. :eek:

KC Kings
05-03-2005, 04:09 PM
Well you would first need to be a genious... that excludes you, obviously.
Not really. All you would have to do is turn up your speakers really loud, and learn it vibrationally.

Mr. Flopnuts
05-09-2009, 08:25 PM
You are from Arkansas.... so it probably helps the Red necks learn English as well. Oh yeah!

This post is a lot funnier with your current avatar. I just got Rosetta Stone and this is a great program. In my line of work it's much more profitable to be bilingual. Anyone actually complete this and speak another language now?

Frazod
05-09-2009, 09:02 PM
The babe in the commercial is amazing, too. Oh.... My.... God.... :drool:

Delano
05-09-2009, 09:13 PM
The babe in the commercial is amazing, too. Oh.... My.... God.... :drool:

Oh hai fraz.

http://i39.tinypic.com/vcqasy.jpg