PDA

View Full Version : ETHERNET HOOKUP QUESTION........


ROYC75
05-14-2005, 09:03 AM
OK, this is out of my leagye, I had a Gateway Celieron ( ? ) given to us with Wins 98. It is a funky thing, all built in one unit, ( pc and screen ). It has a regular telephone hookup connection and a bunch of USB ports.

My problem is, I have a ethernet hook up coming off of all the ports. Is there anyway to make this damn thing work ? :hmmm:

I want to put it downstairs for the kids to play on.

Simplex3
05-14-2005, 09:07 AM
You can get an Ethernet adapter that plugs into the USB ports, but they have a tendency to not work. You can buy an Ethernet card to put in the computer for $5 at Microcenter or Compusa. If you watch for rebates sometimes you can get them for free.

ROYC75
05-14-2005, 09:09 AM
You can get an Ethernet adapter that plugs into the USB ports, but they have a tendency to not work. You can buy an Ethernet card to put in the computer for $5 at Microcenter or Compusa. If you watch for rebates sometimes you can get them for free.

OK, I'm a dummy when it comes to the internal end of these things. The card you speak of, does it like switch the plugin out ?

Would Radio Shack have this adapter you speak of ?

JazzzLovr
05-14-2005, 09:14 AM
You can buy an Ethernet card to put in the computer for $5 at Microcenter or Compusa. If you watch for rebates sometimes you can get them for free.

It sounds like he's talking about the Gateway Profile (think "PC version of the iMac"). If it is, there is no putting anything inside it. IIRC, it seems like one or two of the later Profiles had a PC card slot, but other than that, USB would have to do.

Roy, if you can find the serial number on it (probably starts with 001 or 002), PM me and I'll look into it.

ROYC75
05-14-2005, 09:19 AM
It sounds like he's talking about the Gateway Profile (think "PC version of the iMac"). If it is, there is no putting anything inside it. IIRC, it seems like one or two of the later Profiles had a PC card slot, but other than that, USB would have to do.

Roy, if you can find the serial number on it (probably starts with 001 or 002), PM me and I'll look into it.


Will do ........... hang on a bit.

ROYC75
05-14-2005, 09:22 AM
gw s/n 109.......blah blah blah

doesn't sound good

you want the whole thing ?

ROYC75
05-14-2005, 09:29 AM
OK, this is it.......

GW S/N 1096078900
SEC S/N 4141K4601700
GW P/N 3500600 BAL.3

I know the mouse hooked into the keyboard and the keyboard hooke into the side USB port.

On the back is a mouse and a keyboard USB port, plus the phone port.

The gateway keypad went bad, I have to use the mouse port and the side port for the keyboard.

I have a bad hunch the keyboard port in the back is not going to work for an ethernet/USB hookup.

KCWolfman
05-14-2005, 10:16 AM
Is this what it looks like on back?

http://www.referenceguide.com/images/products/gatewayprofile4rearsmall.jpg

Claynus
05-14-2005, 10:21 AM
Wow, I've never heard of an all-in-one non-Mac.

KCWolfman
05-14-2005, 10:26 AM
Wow, I've never heard of an all-in-one non-Mac.
They have been out for quite some time.

http://www.referenceguide.com/images/products/gatewayprofile4.jpg

JazzzLovr
05-14-2005, 10:30 AM
Is this what it looks like on back?

No, Russ, it's much worse than that. It's an Astro, not a Profile:

http://supcontent.gateway.com/support.gateway.com/s/Astro/3500600/350060008.jpg

Roy, a USB adapter is going to be your only option. Try this link:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16833164118

This is the one that Darkwolfe uses in his PC repair business for troubleshooting, and he said he's never had any problems with it.

JazzzLovr
05-14-2005, 10:32 AM
They have been out for quite some time.

The Astro was even before that one:

http://supcontent.gateway.com/support.gateway.com/s/Astro/3500600/350060020.jpg

KCWolfman
05-14-2005, 11:12 AM
The Astro was even before that one:

http://supcontent.gateway.com/support.gateway.com/s/Astro/3500600/350060020.jpg
I like the dog better

http://www.cybercomm.nl/~ivo/photo_ASTRO.GIF

Saulbadguy
05-14-2005, 01:21 PM
Compaq created all in ones way before that. They were pieces of shit.

KCWolfman
05-14-2005, 01:55 PM
Compaq created all in ones way before that. They were pieces of shit.
Hell, by definition, my Commodore 64 was an all-in-one.

ROYC75
05-14-2005, 04:20 PM
No, Russ, it's much worse than that. It's an Astro, not a Profile:

http://supcontent.gateway.com/support.gateway.com/s/Astro/3500600/350060008.jpg

Roy, a USB adapter is going to be your only option. Try this link:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16833164118

This is the one that Darkwolfe uses in his PC repair business for troubleshooting, and he said he's never had any problems with it.

That's the one....... I'll have to find an adapter for it, nobody here carries it.