PDA

View Full Version : ftp with cox cable.


theultimatekcchiefsfan
05-25-2005, 06:51 PM
I used to do it all the time. I reformatted. I am now trying mozillas fire ftp.

Anyway for the host name I am assuming it has to be one of the below options. plus name and password. Any help would be appreciated, Thanks.

Here is one of my sites sites I would like to use for file storage and such.
http://members.cox.net/waterfitz1/

Are any of these below the correct host name? Nothing happens when I try to connect.

http://members.cox.net/waterfitz1/

login password


ftp.members.cox.net\waterfitz1/

login password


ftp.members.cox.net\

login password


Thanks for any help.

AeroSquid
05-26-2005, 09:39 AM
are you just having trouble with the syntax?

it should look like this:

ftp://ftp.FreeBSD.org/pub/FreeBSD/

or

ftp://user:pass@host

if authentication is required.

I suggest using smart ftp, it's free and easy to get the hang of.

http://www.smartftp.com/

htismaqe
05-26-2005, 11:40 AM
I use EmFTP for managing the Intranet here and it works quite well. Otherwise I just use the FTP command from a cmd window.

But yes, your syntax is all screwed up. I just accessed your site via:

ftp://members.cox.net/waterfitz1/

It prompted me for a password and wouldn't allow me to log in anonymously.

ENDelt260
05-26-2005, 11:45 AM
I just use the FTP command from a cmd window.

That's what I always do. I'd be surprised if there's an ftp client other than that one even installed on my machine.