PDA

View Full Version : Just got a HD box


chop
06-16-2005, 07:54 PM
The picture looks alot better and I'm very pleased.

The only thing is that the non HD stations don't come in as clear as they used to. I'm not sure what the problem is.

Ultra Peanut
06-16-2005, 07:54 PM
Maybe it's just that they look much worse in comparison?

chop
06-16-2005, 07:56 PM
No that's not it because I noticed it before I even tuned into an HD channel.

Ultra Peanut
06-16-2005, 07:58 PM
Oh. Then... good luck, because I have no clue.

Mr. Laz
06-16-2005, 08:04 PM
so you had an HD television and you just got an HD tuner box?

i'm i understanding correctly?


you might try messing with your screen ratio ... sometimes they have zoom or horizon or some such nonsense that stretches your picture.


make sure you have a forced 3:4 ratio on non HD channels

sd4chiefs
06-16-2005, 08:07 PM
I bought a Direct TV HD TIVO on Monday. Direct TV still does not offer the local stations in HD but the HD channels I get are great.

chop
06-16-2005, 08:07 PM
so you had an HD television and you just got an HD tuner box?

i'm i understanding correctly?


That is correct. My job kept me in Alabama for almost an entire year. I bought the TV while in Alabama and i wasn't able to watch it much. I'm back home now so I thought I would set it up right.

chop
06-16-2005, 08:11 PM
so you had an HD television and you just got an HD tuner box?

i'm i understanding correctly?


you might try messing with your screen ratio ... sometimes they have zoom or horizon or some such nonsense that stretches your picture.


make sure you have a forced 3:4 ratio on non HD channels


Thanks, I'll try that. I did notice when I selected auto format the picture was better.

Mr. Laz
06-16-2005, 08:14 PM
That is correct. My job kept me in Alabama for almost an entire year. I bought the TV while in Alabama and i wasn't able to watch it much. I'm back home now so I thought I would set it up right.
k...

i'm hardly a HD expert, but i would look at the ratio settings on the tv AND the box itself.


the time warner hd cable box we got looks fuzzy as hell on non-HD unless you force the proper ratio. i still think you get a better picture if you bypass the box on non-hd.

i have it set up so you can change the video source to a direct cable hookup and bypass the box if i feel the need.

darkchief
06-16-2005, 08:51 PM
I bought a Direct TV HD TIVO on Monday. Direct TV still does not offer the local stations in HD but the HD channels I get are great.
You can use a antenna to get local HD channels.

Ninjaman
06-16-2005, 09:02 PM
I WONDER WHAT 2000 X 2000 RESOLUTION WOULD LOOK LIKE ? OR 4000X4000.

IT WOULD KICK IT. I WONDER WHEN THEY WILL UPGRADE RESOLUTIONS ON HD TV'S.

ragedogg69
06-16-2005, 09:04 PM
sometimes the "upconverters" on an HD box do a poorer job then the TV originally did. I have seen this type of posting before. Try messing with the ratios and when watching SD material, try to watch it in 480i rather then having it upconverted to 1080i or 720p...

so, how many did i lose with taht last sentence?

Pants
06-16-2005, 09:08 PM
Yeah dude, I was playing Halo 2 on a 65" (or some such) HD projection TV at my friends house and it looked like shit. I was nice and just asked him whether it's supposed to look like that.

I mean, my old flat screen Sony has a better picture. Weird.

ragedogg69
06-16-2005, 09:15 PM
well you stretch a 640x480 image to 65" you cant expect it to look good. I however have been playing Half Life 2 on my 65" at 1776x1000 and it looks beautiful.

The HD consoles will be great!

Pants
06-16-2005, 09:17 PM
well you stretch a 640x480 image to 65" you cant expect it to look good. I however have been playing Half Life 2 on my 65" at 1776x1000 and it looks beautiful.

The HD consoles will be great!

Well, Xbox is HD, except it's 480p, heh.

sd4chiefs
06-16-2005, 10:25 PM
You can use a antenna to get local HD channels.

I have one but it does not work very will. It seams to always drop the signal halfway threw a show. :shake: If I watch any network programs I record it on TIVO so I can skip the long ass comercials.

Saulbadguy
06-16-2005, 10:37 PM
Well, Xbox is HD, except it's 480p, heh.
Xbox has some 1080i games out as well, IIRC.