PDA

View Full Version : New Golf Thread

philfree
06-17-2005, 09:36 PM
How's all the Planet Golfers playing these days? My game's coming and if the putts start dropping more frequently I might be decent. It comes and goes and that's the nature of the beast. Anyways if Stinger's back in town or anyone else is interested I'm looking for a game with some Planet members. Skip's still invited to play too if he chooses. No big deal just a gentlemen's day on the links.

PhilFree:arrow:

Dartgod
06-17-2005, 09:37 PM
golf sucks...hehe

PastorMikH
06-17-2005, 09:53 PM
Went out today. Last weekend I was hitting plastic balls around in the yard and something sorta snapped. I used to be a long ball driver - 300 yards was a common thing. I couldn't pitch or put back then to save my life, but my driving kept me competitive. Over the last 6-8 years or so though my driving has been sub-par with a lot of slicing. In the yard last weekend, I did something a bit different on the swing and things kinda snapped into place for me. Today I tried the swing on the course. I was hitting some nice straight drives right down the fairway between 225 - 250 yards (the air was extremely heavy and we were all hitting 1 iron more than normal on our shots). I was the long driver on most of the holes today. Thing is, I wasn't even trying to hit the ball hard, just keep the arms and hips straight and let my back do the pivoting instead of my arms and legs.

The lack of sleep all week took it's toll on the back 9. I was ahead of the Doc (eyes) that is in our church (I've yet to beat him), but 4-5 hour nights of sleep all week and not eating yet today before playing got the best of me and I ran out of juice and started getting sloppy and duffing shots.

CosmicPal
06-17-2005, 09:57 PM