PDA

View Full Version : stumped


augustorm
06-23-2005, 03:09 PM
Hey peeps,
I'm having some probs with one of my machines.
One day I pulled a memory board out to compare to one that a friend had given me. I saw that they were not the same so I put mine back in and gave the other one back to my friend telling him that I could not use it with my MB.
I go to boot my machine and everything looked normal...everything until windows tried to load....just when I think I am going to get the Wallpaper and my network logon, the machine just shuts down.
No error msg, nothing, it is as if I myself had chose the shutdown option.
So, I've been troubleshooting for about two weeks now and finally I see a error msg during the autoexec.bat screen that says: "Memory manager not found". and it then it refers to EMM386.
The thing runs in safe mode all day long....but when i choose normal boot, it shuts itself down.
I have reinstalled windows. I have not reformatted yet.
Maybe its just time for a better machine.
I have wanted to see for myself if amd processors are better for game play.
This is my game machine that is having the probs.
So, think it could be perhaps a virus doing this or perhaps my powersupply. I just dont get it.

Saulbadguy
06-23-2005, 03:21 PM
Wow..EMM386. Its been awhile since i've heard that one.

BigRedChief
06-23-2005, 03:27 PM
Wow..EMM386. Its been awhile since i've heard that one.

ROFL Throw it in the trash and go get yourself a new one.

I suspect someone is playing a joke here? :harumph:

AeroSquid
06-23-2005, 04:05 PM
reseat that ram... i'll bet you didn't get it back in good. You might spray it with some contact cleaner (or rub it with a rubber eraser lol)

augustorm
06-23-2005, 05:27 PM
Yeah I'm for real and the machine is a pent III 900. Thats not so old. I have no idea why i got the error of the mem manager. Thats why im stumped. I have reseated the ram twice and the ram reports during the post sequence. I dunno.
So. next question...do amd processors jive better with gaming and why? Okay..that was two questions.

Saulbadguy
06-23-2005, 05:37 PM
Are you running Windows 98?

augustorm
06-23-2005, 05:45 PM
Are you running Windows 98?
Yeah 98SE

Count Alex's Losses
06-23-2005, 05:51 PM
Yeah I'm for real and the machine is a pent III 900. Thats not so old. I have no idea why i got the error of the mem manager. Thats why im stumped. I have reseated the ram twice and the ram reports during the post sequence. I dunno.
So. next question...do amd processors jive better with gaming and why? Okay..that was two questions.

Dude, that's REALLY old. I'm thinking my XP 3000+ is old. Jesus.

augustorm
06-23-2005, 06:08 PM
Dude, that's REALLY old. I'm thinking my XP 3000+ is old. Jesus.
xp....you've got to be kidding...XP sucks arse
Way too many gamming issues...not to mention security.
Besides, I'm trying to save this thing for my wife. I dont wanna trash it.
Well I do want to build another one for gamming. It is past its prime for games, I do at least recognize that. But even the new machine will have 98SE installed on it. Its the only OS I have used that doesn't have issues with any games i play.

Count Alex's Losses
06-23-2005, 06:11 PM
xp....you've got to be kidding...XP sucks arse
Way too many gamming issues...not to mention security.
Besides, I'm trying to save this thing for my wife. I dont wanna trash it.
Well I do want to build another one for gamming. It is past its prime for games, I do at least recognize that. But even the new machine will have 98SE installed on it. Its the only OS I have used that doesn't have issues with any games i play.
I wasn't talking about Windows XP (I run 2000 Pro), I was talking about the AMD processor which runs at an enquivalent of 3.0 Ghz.

And yes, XP was insecure and had gaming issues 3 years ago. Win 98 has more gaming issues than XP now.

augustorm
06-23-2005, 06:11 PM
lol, I'm thinking you were talking os's...not processors.
anyhoo, is AMD the way to go for gaming?

Count Alex's Losses
06-23-2005, 06:13 PM
lol, I'm thinking you were talking os's...not processors.
anyhoo, is AMD the way to go for gaming?

Yes, the [new] 64 bit processors.

augustorm
06-23-2005, 07:10 PM
Yes, the [new] 64 bit processors.
Yeah I've been looking at the new 64's but was told that games wouldnt be able to take advantage of it now. If I remember correctly, it had something to do with addressing memory. I dunno but as one person told me..any new amd is better than intel with gaming. So I'll prolly go that route.
Thanks

Count Alex's Losses
06-23-2005, 07:15 PM
Yeah I've been looking at the new 64's but was told that games wouldnt be able to take advantage of it now. If I remember correctly, it had something to do with addressing memory. I dunno but as one person told me..any new amd is better than intel with gaming. So I'll prolly go that route.
Thanks

You should also look into upgrading to Windows XP Pro (Corporate Edition).

AeroSquid
06-23-2005, 09:10 PM
AMD and Intel both stand on the threshold of Dual Core madness :) By this time next year a single core chip will be hard to find outside a notebook or the very highest end gaming pc. As of right now today AMD is far superior to Intel in just about every way. AMD's architecture enables them to scale with less power (heat) than Intel's current P4 which is nearing the end of it's life span. If you want a gaming rig that cannot be touched a San Diego core FX-55 is the chip for you. If you want a multi tasking machine without peer the Athlon 64X2 is the way to go. Of course both of those are very expensive lol. If you want to step into it on the cheap-
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103535

Personally I have bought my last single core processor. By this fall I'm hoping prices are down to a reasonable level. just so i don't sound like a complete AMD fanboy, Intel will give AMD all it can handle in the next year or so, they have a hotrod with that Dothan core just not enough support for it in the desktop market yet, motherboard wise... that will soon change as rumors of SLI and Crossfire boards coming soon to an Intel chip near you hehe.

Pants
06-23-2005, 09:28 PM
I'm probably going to upgrade to an AMD 64 3000 or so here in a month or two...

chagrin
06-24-2005, 07:32 AM
Have you been to techsupportforum.com?

Pretty helpful site

Mr. Laz
06-24-2005, 12:27 PM
memory problem... your machine may have been running on your friends memory only.

1. reseat the memory
2. move the memory into another slot
3a. add more memory
3b. replace the memory


oh btw ... i hoped you turned the machine off complete(unplugged) before replacing memory etc.... if not, that could kill it.

Count Alex's Losses
06-24-2005, 12:33 PM
memory problem... your machine may have been running on your friends memory only.

1. reseat the memory
2. move the memory into another slot
3a. add more memory
3b. replace the memory


oh btw ... i hoped you turned the machine off complete(unplugged) before replacing memory etc.... if not, that could kill it.

It needed to be euthanized 4 years ago.

Mr. Laz
06-24-2005, 01:42 PM
It needed to be euthanized 4 years ago.


chit ... when i first saw the title i thought it was some chick that was having an illicit affair with stumpy.


thought it was some kind of slang ... ya know the "girl got stumped" or something. :shrug:

Kerberos
06-25-2005, 01:57 PM
xp....you've got to be kidding...XP sucks arse
Way too many gamming issues...not to mention security.
Besides, I'm trying to save this thing for my wife. I dont wanna trash it.
Well I do want to build another one for gamming. It is past its prime for games, I do at least recognize that. But even the new machine will have 98SE installed on it. Its the only OS I have used that doesn't have issues with any games i play.

XP does not have gamming issues ... it only has issues to those to ignorant or to lazy to go out and find the correct XP patches for most games. If you have games that are ONLY for 98 then I agree ... but then again if you are only playing 98 games then your 900 should be fine.

One more thing... 98 has just as many holes in it as XP and if you REALLY want to see holes in 98 just keep using it after another year or so when microsuck stops supporting it. That is when you will see holes from hell develop.


:D


.