PDA

View Full Version : AVG Antivirus not free anymore?

Lzen
06-25-2005, 11:47 AM
www.grisoft.com

Am I missing something or did they stop giving out the free version of AVG antivirus?

Lzen
06-25-2005, 11:49 AM
I should mention that I was having problems with the current version which I have been using for the past 3-4 months. So, I tried to reinstall it and it wouldn't install. So, I went to their website and I could only find 30 day trial versions. No free version.

the Talking Can
06-25-2005, 12:05 PM
www.grisoft.com

Am I missing something or did they stop giving out the free version of AVG antivirus?

go here:

AVG still free (http://free.grisoft.com/doc/1)

Lzen
06-25-2005, 12:29 PM
go here:

AVG still free (http://free.grisoft.com/doc/1)

Ok, thanks. I'll try that.

eazyb81
06-25-2005, 08:32 PM
I just downloaded it last week on my new laptop, so i'm assuming it is still available now.

htismaqe
06-26-2005, 06:42 AM
FYI, as one of the original AVG evangelists here, I use Avast.

I've found it to be far more proactive than AVG.

ToroGuns
06-26-2005, 07:42 AM

Forget AVG, download Avast http://www.avast.com/ and get free automatic updates.

2 years and no problems with it.

Lzen
06-26-2005, 09:15 AM

That's actually what I ended up doing anyway. The setup for it is kind of a pain in the bum.

htismaqe
06-26-2005, 10:00 AM
That's actually what I ended up doing anyway. The setup for it is kind of a pain in the bum.

The thing about Avast is that I haven't yet found anything that could get past it's on-access scanner. So I haven't really had a use to do the reactive scan.

Lzen
06-26-2005, 11:26 AM
The thing about Avast is that I haven't yet found anything that could get past it's on-access scanner. So I haven't really had a use to do the reactive scan.

I like the program so far. And from what you and some others have said on here, I get the impression that it's a real good AV. It was just a little bit of a pain to setup. But now I'm good to go.

chiefs4me