PDA

View Full Version : NFT: How do you make the best burnt ends?

Fried Meat Ball!
07-29-2005, 10:48 PM
OK, so I know it's brisket... but I've read some places that say use what you get, others say to cut them off and return them to the smoker. What gives?

Mr. Kotter
07-29-2005, 10:49 PM
Buy 'em at, Haywards? :D

cdcox
07-29-2005, 10:52 PM
OK, so I know it's brisket... but I've read some places that say use what you get, others say to cut them off and return them to the smoker. What gives?

I'm not an expert, but I've always heard that latter.

Fried Meat Ball!
07-29-2005, 10:52 PM
Buy 'em at, Haywards? :D
I very clearly wrote "make"... :cuss:

Fried Meat Ball!
07-29-2005, 11:56 PM
Anybody know how to make just burnt ends? That'd be awesome... could you do that by smoking the brisket, then slicing it all up, then returning it to the smoker?

htismaqe
07-30-2005, 06:44 AM
Burnt ends are made from the tip of the brisket -- the "pointed" end. You can make them with pork too, if you find the right-shaped butt.

I usually find it's not necessary to cut the end and return it to the smoker. If I'm careful about temp control (< 225) and I lay my brisket in with the pointy end towards the firebox, I get pretty good burnt ends while the thick end is just right.

To make JUST burnt ends, I would think you could just cut your brisket into strips and do it that way. Might end up kinda like jerky though...

J Diddy
07-30-2005, 06:46 AM
I very clearly wrote "make"... :cuss:

Then "make" a trip to Haywards

excessive
07-30-2005, 07:02 AM
[QUOTE=htismaqe]

I usually find it's not necessary to cut the end and return it to the smoker. If I'm careful about temp control (< 225) and I lay my brisket in with the pointy end towards the firebox, I get pretty good burnt ends while the thick end is just right.

Yep, that's the only way. You can't "make" good burnt ends. They just happen.