PDA

View Full Version : Air conditioner not blowing cool air.


Saulbadguy
08-28-2005, 05:56 PM
Its a balmy 89 degrees here at Shea Saul. The AC has done this before, but usually it "fixes itself" after awhile. I'm not so optimistic this time. Does anyone have any idea what it could be, and how much it would cost to repair?

It might need replaced all together. I think its the original unit (condos built in 81). How much do these things usually run? I've got a 900 sq foot condo...so I don't think i'd need a monster.

alanm
08-28-2005, 06:02 PM
Open your f*cking windows it's only 89 out. It's 91 here and it feels great!! :D

BigMeatballDave
08-28-2005, 06:04 PM
Sounds to me like it needs re-charged...

Saulbadguy
08-28-2005, 06:04 PM
Open your f*cking windows it's only 89 out. It's 91 here and it feels great!! :D
Its 89 but humid, and I live on the 3rd floor. :(

|Zach|
08-28-2005, 06:06 PM
Its 89 but humid, and I live on the 3rd floor. :(
Heat rises.

This information brought to you by a fine eduation at...

|Zach|
08-28-2005, 06:06 PM
ROFL

Saulbadguy
08-28-2005, 06:07 PM
This information brought to you by a fine eduation at...
Heh. ;)

BigMeatballDave
08-28-2005, 06:07 PM
Sounds to me like it needs re-charged...To elaborate; the refrigerant needs refilled...

Claynus
08-28-2005, 06:07 PM
Check your breakers.

|Zach|
08-28-2005, 06:09 PM
Check your breakers.
http://home.att.net/~jeff1_satobserve/cp09.jpg

Claynus
08-28-2005, 06:09 PM
Actually since it's working, that's probably not the problem.

Our AC man was here the other day and he dumped a bunch of freon into our AC.

You might be out of freon.

Skip Towne
08-28-2005, 06:09 PM
It's DOA. New ones cost thousands, like cars.

Saulbadguy
08-28-2005, 06:10 PM
Freon, eh? :hmmm:

|Zach|
08-28-2005, 06:12 PM
Freon, eh? :hmmm:
Duh

http://ppd.fnal.gov/experiments/e907/Cerenkov/e910/recovery.gif

PRIEST
08-28-2005, 06:13 PM
If you can get to the outside unit ,you would be amazed how taking a water hose & cleaning the cooling fins free of dirt,also check your in door filter.

wutamess
08-28-2005, 06:17 PM
Saul,

Check the Central AC unit.
Check if any of the pipes or frozen.
They're supposed to be moist not frozen.

If frozen, you need freon.
The next thing is to spray off the AC unit getting all of the dirt from between the coils.

That should make a difference.

I'm well versed in this as I've been going through the same thing you have.
It was blowing cold but not cold enough... All I needed to do was spray the 1/4" filter of dirt off and it was A-OK.

Spent a $35 service fee but it was worth it.

Saulbadguy
08-28-2005, 06:22 PM
Thanks. The first step will be figuring out which unit is mine.

elvomito
08-28-2005, 06:55 PM
It might need replaced all together. I think its the original unit (condoms built in 81). How much do these things usually run? I've got a 900 sq foot condom...so I don't think i'd need a monster.i have no idea about pricing for latex that large but in my opinion a monster would definately be needed for something like that. i'm no expert though

kcfanintitanhell
08-28-2005, 07:03 PM
Also make sure your air intake filter is clean...I've found out the hard way that, next to being low on freon, a dirty filter will cause the line to freeze.

mikey23545
08-28-2005, 07:09 PM
Keep in mind that if your AC is shot, a window unit to cool a small place like yours would not be that much at Walmart....

Saulbadguy
08-28-2005, 07:10 PM
Keep in mind that if your AC is shot, a window unit to cool a small place like yours would not be that much at Walmart....
Nope...but window units really don't do much to increase the resell value of a condo.

siberian khatru
08-28-2005, 07:12 PM
If you can get to the outside unit ,you would be amazed how taking a water hose & cleaning the cooling fins free of dirt,also check your in door filter.


It's worked wonders for me when my A/C has done the same thing Saul's has. So has changing filters.

dtebbe
08-28-2005, 07:28 PM
If it "fixes itself", that points at high head pressure with the condensor freezing up. When the condenser thaws, it starts working again. Usually this is caused by your outside coils being clogged with crap. Get out the hose and clean it out, and chances are you'll fix the problem. If you have not had someone check the freon levels for a while, that would we worth looking at too. Once a tech throws a test set on there they will be able to tell right away where to look.

DT

ENDelt260
08-28-2005, 08:15 PM
I dropped 4 grand on a new AC unit for my place awhile back.

PastorMikH
08-28-2005, 09:20 PM
My first question is do you have air blowing out of the vents? If so, is it a decent gust or a small trickle?




As for opening the windows - anyone that has lived in Kansas knows you don't open windows there, that just invites the feedlot smell inside.

Skip Towne
08-28-2005, 09:32 PM
My first question is do you have air blowing out of the vents? If so, is it a decent gust or a small trickle?




As for opening the windows - anyone that has lived in Kansas knows you don't open windows there, that just invites the feedlot smell inside.
I've lived in Kansas most of my 60 years and I've never had "that feedlot smell" come through my windows. That's just a reflection of the places you've chosen to live.

stevieray
08-28-2005, 09:37 PM
dang Saul, you've lived a sheltered life.

FloridaChief
08-28-2005, 09:38 PM
Chez Saul, you moron...

Saulbadguy
08-29-2005, 07:32 AM
dang Saul, you've lived a sheltered life.
:(

What the heck is that supposed to mean?

Its HOT up here!

Brock
08-29-2005, 07:37 AM
See if your A-coil is frozen over. If it is, you probably have a plugged air filter.

Otherwise, you may have a blown fuse out at the compressor.

StcChief
08-29-2005, 07:56 AM
I've lived in Kansas most of my 60 years and I've never had "that feedlot smell" come through my windows. That's just a reflection of the places you've chosen to live.

We called that Fresh country air growing up in Illinois.
ROFL :)

bkkcoh
08-29-2005, 08:06 AM
See if your A-coil is frozen over. If it is, you probably have a plugged air filter.

Otherwise, you may have a blown fuse out at the compressor.

yeah, check for at fuse near the outside unit. Also check the air filter, a really dirty can restrict the flow big time also.

Iowanian
08-29-2005, 08:10 AM
Unfortunately Sauldo..........You'll probably have to consult someone who may be wearing boots or a cap to repair your problem.

Thats gotta hurt.

Dave Lane
08-29-2005, 09:29 AM
Its a balmy 89 degrees here at Shea Saul. The AC has done this before, but usually it "fixes itself" after awhile. I'm not so optimistic this time. Does anyone have any idea what it could be, and how much it would cost to repair?

It might need replaced all together. I think its the original unit (condos built in 81). How much do these things usually run? I've got a 900 sq foot condo...so I don't think i'd need a monster.

Probably low on freon. See if the outside unit is spinning at all. Most have a low freon shutoff switch.

Dave

Lzen
08-29-2005, 10:10 AM
My first question is do you have air blowing out of the vents? If so, is it a decent gust or a small trickle?




As for opening the windows - anyone that has lived in Kansas knows you don't open windows there, that just invites the feedlot smell inside.

Dude, this isn't western Kansas. ;) But I have stayed in motels in places like Garden City and Liberal and I can confirm that feedlot smell that you speak of. :Lin:

Lzen
08-29-2005, 10:13 AM
Open your f*cking windows it's only 89 out. It's 91 here and it feels great!! :D

I assume you mean in Wyoming or Colorado? Very little humidity to speak of there. Here, the high humidity makes it feel about 10 degrees warmer.

Radar Chief
08-29-2005, 10:21 AM
Dude, this isn't western Kansas. ;) But I have stayed in motels in places like Garden City and Liberal and I can confirm that feedlot smell that you speak of. :Lin:


I lived in Liberal for a little while in the mid Ď80ís and that smell isnít the feed lot.
Itís that huge meat packing plant outside town. What your smelling is them burning off blood. :Lin:
At least thatís what I was told by the locals.

ptlyon
08-29-2005, 10:48 AM
Update?

Saulbadguy
08-29-2005, 11:15 AM
Update?
I called a service guy. He will be here soon, I think. I found my unit. It looks older than dirt, and its not even running. One of the panels was off its hinges too. Heh.

ptlyon
08-29-2005, 11:19 AM
I found my unit.

Well good. Always good to know where that is.

She gave it back? :p

Skip Towne
08-29-2005, 11:20 AM
I called a service guy. He will be here soon, I think. I found my unit. It looks older than dirt, and its not even running. One of the panels was off its hinges too. Heh.
How do you know which unit is yours?

Saulbadguy
08-29-2005, 11:40 AM
How do you know which unit is yours?
Its the oldest, shittiest one. Plus its a lennox, same as the furnace. And its marked with my APT #.

Saulbadguy
08-29-2005, 01:26 PM
Update?
Couple of blown fuses. Cost me a little under 100 bucks.

PRIEST
08-29-2005, 01:29 PM
Dood deal, back to to the AC with you :p

StcChief
08-29-2005, 01:29 PM
Couple of blown fuses. Cost me a little under 100 bucks.

Real question.... Why did the fuses blow? cured the symptom, not the problem.

Area 51
08-29-2005, 01:32 PM
Couple of blown fuses. Cost me a little under 100 bucks.

Did you write down the fuse size and number?

If you didn't it would be worth your time to do so. Next time it would cost you under $10.00.

Did your AC guy find anything else wrong with the unit? If it blew the fuses once there could be a reason for doing so.

Then again, it could be just that your building has queer electrons that run rampant blowing fuses.

onescrewleftuntwisted
08-29-2005, 02:14 PM
Did you write down the fuse size and number?

If you didn't it would be worth your time to do so. Next time it would cost you under $10.00.

Did your AC guy find anything else wrong with the unit? If it blew the fuses once there could be a reason for doing so.

Then again, it could be just that your building has queer electrons that run rampant blowing fuses.


couldn't agree more
might want to fix those hinges too... keep the birds from building nests in it

Saulbadguy
08-29-2005, 02:16 PM
His explanation of the blown fuses: "they were old."

Brock
08-29-2005, 02:25 PM
Real question.... Why did the fuses blow? cured the symptom, not the problem.

It usually happens when the A/C is first turned on at the beginning of summer. The compressor parts corrode together and cause a hard start, leading to blown fuses.

If your a/c ever fails to start at the beginning of a/c season, that's the first thing to check. It's a cheap fix, unless you're Saulwhippedguy.

Area 51
08-29-2005, 02:28 PM
His explanation of the blown fuses: "they were old."

I've seen 500 HP motors run with 480 VAC use the exact same fuses for over 15 years. "OLD FUSES?" I don't think so Tim.

stevieray
08-29-2005, 03:23 PM
Saul's toilet is clogged...what should he do...?

Claynus
08-29-2005, 03:31 PM
Saul's toilet is clogged...what should he do...?

Call Dirk Drainhead.

http://www.answers.com/main/content/wp/en/thumb/6/69/180px-Dirk_Drain-Head.jpg

Biohazard
08-29-2005, 03:58 PM
Saul's toilet is clogged...what should he do...?
Change the fuses? There probably old too! ROFL Hell Ill do it for 100$.

stevieray
08-29-2005, 04:02 PM
Change the fuses? There probably old too! ROFL Hell Ill do it for 100$.


ROFL

Saulbadguy
08-29-2005, 04:13 PM
Saul's toilet is clogged...what should he do...?
Your computer is hosed..what should you do? :)

Skip Towne
08-29-2005, 04:14 PM
I've seen 500 HP motors run with 480 VAC use the exact same fuses for over 15 years. "OLD FUSES?" I don't think so Tim.
And two fuses at once? I don't think so either, Tim.

Claynus
08-29-2005, 04:18 PM
Your computer is hosed..what should you do? :)

Bahahaha! PWNED!

KC Dan
08-29-2005, 04:20 PM
Sounds like someone is a ...

stevieray
08-29-2005, 05:02 PM
Your computer is hosed..what should you do? :)

go without.

Saulbadguy
08-29-2005, 05:07 PM
ROFL

ENDelt260
08-29-2005, 05:41 PM
Its the oldest, shittiest one. Plus its a lennox, same as the furnace. And its marked with my APT #.

ROFL I like how you list that last.

ENDelt260
08-29-2005, 05:43 PM
Saul's toilet is clogged...what should he do...?
Turn off the water and use the toilet in the guest bathroom.

dtebbe
08-29-2005, 06:35 PM
Did you write down the fuse size and number?

If you didn't it would be worth your time to do so. Next time it would cost you under $10.00.

Did your AC guy find anything else wrong with the unit? If it blew the fuses once there could be a reason for doing so.

Then again, it could be just that your building has queer electrons that run rampant blowing fuses.

I've seend brownouts or a momentary power interruption cause this. Most newer systems have lockouts that keep it from happening, but an old system probably would not. I would invest in a newer thermostat that has the compressor "lock out" that won't let the compressor start until 5 minutes after it last stops.

DT

Skip Towne
08-29-2005, 06:41 PM
I've seend brownouts or a momentary power interruption cause this. Most newer systems have lockouts that keep it from happening, but an old system probably would not. I would invest in a newer thermostat that has the compressor "lock out" that won't let the compressor start until 5 minutes after it last stops.

DT
That makes sense. The 5 minute delay is to allow the pressure to bleed off so the compressor doesn't have to start up against the pressure. That could blow fuses for sure.

Area 51
08-30-2005, 03:12 PM
And two fuses at once? I don't think so either, Tim.

Where did you get two fuses and a three phase motor? If there were only two fuses you would effectively single phase the motor and either burn it up or kick out the overloads.

Get it straight Tim.

Area 51
08-30-2005, 03:13 PM
I've seend brownouts or a momentary power interruption cause this. Most newer systems have lockouts that keep it from happening, but an old system probably would not. I would invest in a newer thermostat that has the compressor "lock out" that won't let the compressor start until 5 minutes after it last stops.

DT

You are aware that the five minutes are basically while the overloads cool down, right? Serves the purpose, but I don't think that was the original problem.

I still say the guy took him with the old fuses routine and he will experience more problems later.

SLAG
06-28-2006, 08:00 PM
Since its proper forum practice to always post in an existing thread rather than starting a new one... so here


My problem is the outside unit turns on but then it sounds like the fan wont kick on... It makes an attempt to kick on then fails.. it tries a few more times then stops for a bit.. then tries later.... i have turned it off and its just off... any tip's or suggestions?

cdcox
06-28-2006, 08:04 PM
Your inside house fan won't come on or the outside unit fan?

Either case it could be the fan capacitor or the whole fan moter.

ChiefsfaninPA
06-28-2006, 08:06 PM
Since its proper forum practice to always post in an existing thread rather than starting a new one... so here


My problem is the outside unit turns on but then it sounds like the fan wont kick on... It makes an attempt to kick on then fails.. it tries a few more times then stops for a bit.. then tries later.... i have turned it off and its just off... any tip's or suggestions?


My unit was doing almost the same thing a month ago. HVAC guy came and and said the motor in the fan was blown. He was just going to replace it but he checked my whole system and noticed the evaporator had a major leak. The unit is a original unit (house built in 89) and 10 SEER. He just recommended replacing the condenser, evaporator and coil and lineset, basically the whole unit. Put me back 2100 but man is it like a icebox in my house :)

SLAG
06-28-2006, 08:08 PM
Your inside house fan won't come on or the outside unit fan?

Either case it could be the fan capacitor or the whole fan moter.


the outside unit kicks on fine...


To me what SOUNDS like a fan trying to kick on inside the basement unit isnt coming on and no air is blowing through the vents

cdcox
06-28-2006, 08:09 PM
99% the fan motor or its capacitor. If you are handy neither one is too bad to replace, and it would set you back less than $100.

ChiefsfaninPA
06-28-2006, 08:09 PM
the outside unit kicks on fine...


To me what SOUNDS like a fan trying to kick on inside the basement unit isnt coming on and no air is blowing through the vents

Do you mean fan or blower. I am not sure if there is a fan that turns on inside. At least not with my unit.

SLAG
06-28-2006, 08:11 PM
99% the fan motor or its capacitor. If you are handy neither one is too bad to replace, and it would set you back less than $100.

I live in a Townhouse so 100% of the cost should be covered by the Complex

Saulbadguy
06-28-2006, 08:11 PM
Hey, nice thread.

My AC has worked flawlessly this summer. No blown fuses.

SLAG
06-28-2006, 08:13 PM
Hey, nice thread.

My AC has worked flawlessly this summer. No blown fuses.


Yeah what was the SaulWhippedGuy all about

:hmmm: :p

cdcox
06-28-2006, 08:13 PM
I live in a Townhouse so 100% of the cost should be covered by the Complex

Then get on the phone and call the maintenance guy, already! ROFL

Saulbadguy
06-28-2006, 08:14 PM
Yeah what was the SaulWhippedGuy all about

:hmmm: :p
I proposed to my now wife on August 25th. I started a thread about it.

SLAG
06-28-2006, 08:15 PM
Then get on the phone and call the maintenance guy, already! ROFL

its not that hot we put our fan in the kids room so they dont get TOO hot...


we have some cleaning to do before we invite the maintnece guy down to our basement area.....


is there no "Reset Switch"?

cdcox
06-28-2006, 08:17 PM
No reset switch on my fan. YMMV.

SLAG
06-28-2006, 08:21 PM
No reset switch on my fan. YMMV.


YMMV?


Yours May ? Vary

Yours May or May not Vary?

Saulbadguy
06-28-2006, 08:21 PM
Your mileage may vary

chief2000
06-28-2006, 08:23 PM
Alot of things can go wrong with the AC.

LIke the motor , compressor , leaks & switches.

Dartgod
06-28-2006, 08:23 PM
Alot of things can go wrong with the AC.

LIke the motor , compressor , leaks & switches.
And fuses. Don't forget the fuses.

Saulbadguy
06-28-2006, 08:26 PM
Alot of things can go wrong with the AC.

LIke the motor , compressor , leaks & switches.
Howdy, warpaint99.

cdcox
06-28-2006, 08:27 PM
Alot of things can go wrong with the AC.

LIke the motor , compressor , leaks & switches.

You're telling me. So far this year:

Repair 1: bad blower capacitor and low on freon. Fixed it for 1 day.
Repair 2: bad blower moter Fixed it for 2 days.
Repair 3: bad run capacitor on compressor. Did not fix all the problems.
Repair 4: bad reversing valve (pending)

Hopefully, repiacing the reversing valve will let it run for another couple years.

CoMoChief
06-28-2006, 08:31 PM
Maybe you need to change your oil. :p

dtebbe
06-28-2006, 08:34 PM
Has the filter been changed... recently if ever? Usually if it "fixes itself" that means that lack of airflow over the condenser coil is causing it to freeze up. Once it thaws, it "fixes itself", until the cycle repeats.

DT

Brock
06-28-2006, 08:36 PM
Has the filter been changed... recently if ever? Usually if it "fixes itself" that means that lack of airflow over the condenser coil is causing it to freeze up. Once it thaws, it "fixes itself", until the cycle repeats.

DT

That wouldn't keep the blower from operating. Pretty sure it's a motor/capacitor problem. Some models have an interlock so that if you have the cover off, it won't turn on.

cdcox
06-28-2006, 08:38 PM
That wouldn't keep the blower from operating. Pretty sure it's a motor/capacitor problem. Some models have an interlock so that if you have the cover off, it won't turn on.

DT is trying to fix SaulBadGuy's problem from 2005.

SLAG
06-29-2006, 11:18 AM
The Main Blower was bad... and had gone out.. Maitience had a replacement on hand and now all is good


thanks everyone

dtebbe
06-29-2006, 11:32 AM
DT is trying to fix SaulBadGuy's problem from 2005.

LOL... didn't realize that :)

It's been my job to fix problems for so long, it's just 2nd nature now...

DT