PDA

View Full Version : Q&A with DICK VERMEIL Sep 07, 2005, 5:11:45 PM

philfree
09-07-2005, 06:39 PM
Q&A with DICK VERMEIL
Sep 07, 2005, 5:11:45 PM

On Herman Edwards
:

DICK VERMEIL: “At a time in my career when I was a younger coach I hoped my other friends, if they were coaching and lost, it would make me feel better when I lost. But after I got going again and matured in my way of thinking it helped me when I lost if they won. So, I feel that way about Herman. All I want him to do is win and be successful. Of course, I don’t want him to do that on Sunday at our expense, but any other time I sure do.

On how Herman has grown as a coach:

VERMEIL: “Well, you’d probably have to ask those people that are with him on a daily basis. We’ve spent a lot of time on the phone and different times at owners’ meetings. I think we all grow every year in what we do and how we do it and the people we surround ourselves with. I’m sure Herman has. But not being there on hand I still know this: his football team is extremely well coached so he and his coaching staff are doing a great job. Last year they were the smartest team in football: plus 17 in takeaways, and then the second least penalized team in football. That’s all a positive reflection on his program.”

On Derrick Blaylock:

VERMEIL: “He’s a class person; he’s a giver and non-complainer. He played a tremendous role in any success we’ve had here. He was an outstanding backup and a very good player on special teams. He played well when he started. To me, I’m just so excited he got the opportunity to get some upfront money and put a little nest-egg away and maybe finish his career with one of my closest friends, Herman Edwards.”

On the changes in the Jets offense: