PDA

View Full Version : Help! Dvd Burner question


Jmart
11-11-2005, 01:55 PM
I just bought this online:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16827106554

I know NOTHING about these and the more I read about it it does not have the capacity to burn DVDs, just CDs? Thanks in advance if anyone can answer this question. Also, what dics would I use to burn DVDs if this has that capability?

alnorth
11-11-2005, 11:28 PM
You bought a rather expensive combo drive. Combo drives do not burn DVDs, they can PLAY DVD's and burn CD's. It is usually assumed that any real DVD burner can also burn CD's.

Here's an inexpensive Dual-layer DVD burner I'm currently looking at from a reputable company that is getting great reviews.

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16827152047

AeroSquid
11-12-2005, 08:41 AM
Newegg is cool about returning stuff, give 'em a call and they will work with ya. next time ask before you jump into something you know nothing about ;)

Jmart
11-14-2005, 01:35 PM
Thanks for your help. I realized I got the wrong one and cancelled my order and did some more research and got a Memorex drive that burns DVDs. I needed an external drive because I do not know how to install the drive myself.

AeroSquid
11-14-2005, 05:37 PM
dude...

edit: me or any number of other guys on here could have walked you through adding or swapping an internal cd drive in like 2 minutes. It's really, really easy.

alnorth
11-14-2005, 06:16 PM
Assuming you know how to pull the case off the computer, Installing a drive involves about 3-4 screws, a screwdriver, and plugging it in to 2 cables. If your replacing a drive, you pretty much look at how the old drive was set up, unplug it, unscrew it, pull it out, and put the new one in the exact same way. External drives are generally slower and much more expensive.

If you want an external drive because you have one of those tiny computers that has no room for another internal, or to share between multiple computers, thats a different story.

Jmart
11-14-2005, 10:53 PM
Thanks guys. The problem with my computer is that it is a Gateway 300 and the case is really funky. I had a new hard drive installed and the guys at Best Buy could not get it open for about an hour. I just figures external was the best way to go. May have had to pay a few more bucks but don't have to mess around with my CPU box.