PDA

View Full Version : USB Keyboard and Getting into BIOS


Otter
02-26-2006, 02:44 PM
I have a Logitech Elite USB keyboard and a Asus A7N8X Deluxe mobo. The USB keyboard isn't allowing me to go into BIOS, anyone know a way around this without having to find a PS2 keyboard.

Google searches are proving useless.

ENDelt260
02-26-2006, 02:58 PM
Why the heck do they even make USB keyboards?

Otter
02-26-2006, 03:02 PM
Why the heck do they even make USB keyboards?

Good question when all mobos still have PS2 ports on the back.

Valiant
02-26-2006, 03:12 PM
Why the heck do they even make USB keyboards?


Most laptops and desktops no longer come with ps2 ports.. And the thing I do not get from that is, the wireless keyboard/mouse combo units still have a ps2 hookup.. WTf???

Mr. Laz
02-26-2006, 03:18 PM
you can load USB dos drivers but it's probably easier to just buy a USB to PS2 adapter.

http://www.sfcable.com/Merchant2/graphics/00000001/10usb-ps2.jpg

Otter
02-26-2006, 03:31 PM
This worked:

Unplugged keyboard, rebooted and when the "no keyboard" error message came up I plugged it back in and hit DELETE, it took me into BIOS.

Once in BIOS I enabled USB keyboard setting and it works now.

Thanks.

Saulbadguy
02-26-2006, 05:15 PM
Why the heck do they even make USB keyboards?
My USB keyboard has usb ports on it. It's a handy little USB hub.

ENDelt260
02-27-2006, 12:04 AM
My USB keyboard has usb ports on it. It's a handy little USB hub.
Well, that's cool then, I guess. USB mice and keyboards just annoy me.. .I've got a port designated for those items, why should I give up a USB port for it? If it provides more ports, though, obviously that's good.

Saulbadguy
02-27-2006, 06:32 AM
Well, that's cool then, I guess. USB mice and keyboards just annoy me.. .I've got a port designated for those items, why should I give up a USB port for it? If it provides more ports, though, obviously that's good.
Doesn't matter much for keyboards but USB has a faster polling speed, making mice work better IMO.

dr00d
02-27-2006, 11:43 AM
you can load USB dos drivers but it's probably easier to just buy a USB to PS2 adapter.

http://www.sfcable.com/Merchant2/graphics/00000001/10usb-ps2.jpg


for some reason, those adapters are not standardized...most of them that I have come across can be only used (see:will only work) with the original piece of hardware it came with...don't ask me why though, I would think they are all the same but I guess not.