PDA

View Full Version : best way to record your guitar


Demonpenz
02-27-2006, 10:57 PM
i am looking to sample my funky bass with my awesome lead guitar. Anyone know of the best way to record this on to my computer. i would like to incorporate my digitech pedal too

gblowfish
02-28-2006, 07:43 AM
Get a Mac.
Get Garage Band.
Go to it.
http://www.tweakheadz.com/review_of_garage_band.htm

Bob Dole
02-28-2006, 08:01 AM
Get a Mac.
Get Garage Band.
Go to it.
http://www.tweakheadz.com/review_of_garage_band.htm

Seems like you probably need a little more than just the Mac and Garage Band.

headsnap
02-28-2006, 08:07 AM
Seems like you probably need a little more than just the Mac and Garage Band.in the first post he said(or implied) that he already had the guitar and Diditech pedal. :p



unless of course, you are talking about a cable and a 1/4" to 1/8" phono adapter... :)

Lzen
02-28-2006, 08:09 AM
First thing you need is some type of way to interface with your computer, such as an audio card. Here are some from Musician's Friend.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/rec/navigation?page=1&N=100001+309132&Ns=P_Price%7C0

I have an M-Audio Delta PCI card, but I don't remember what model number.

Once you get the interface (audio card), you'll need some kind of recording software. There is a free one that is decent but I can't remember what it's called.

Lzen
02-28-2006, 08:10 AM
Audacity. I think that's the name of the recording software that is free.

Lzen
02-28-2006, 08:11 AM
Yeah, here is the link.

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

headsnap
02-28-2006, 08:11 AM
First thing you need is some type of way to interface with your computer, such as an audio card. Here are some from Musician's Friend.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/rec/navigation?page=1&N=100001+309132&Ns=P_Price%7C0

I have an M-Audio Delta PCI card, but I don't remember what model number.

Once you get the interface (audio card), you'll need some kind of recording software. There is a free one that is decent but I can't remember what it's called.

gblowfish said the same exact thing using just 9 words!!! :p

Lzen
02-28-2006, 08:15 AM
gblowfish said the same exact thing using just 9 words!!! :p

Doh! I didn't click his link. :p

Actually, I couldn't get past the part about getting a MAC. :shake:
And I thought he might need a little more details. ;)

Bob Dole
02-28-2006, 08:18 AM
gblowfish said the same exact thing using just 9 words!!! :p

...and $1500...

headsnap
02-28-2006, 08:27 AM
...and $1500...
that wouldn't be the case if he had bought a real computer in the first place... :harumph:

Demonpenz
03-01-2006, 01:10 AM
audiocard isn't the same thing as a sound card?

Lzen
03-01-2006, 10:49 AM
audiocard isn't the same thing as a sound card?

Not exactly. Most sound cards, to my knowledge, only output sound. Audio cards also input. Unless you're talking about something like a Soundblaster Audigy Platinum. It has all kinds of connections for inputs and outputs.

Demonpenz
03-01-2006, 11:47 PM
Not exactly. Most sound cards, to my knowledge, only output sound. Audio cards also input. Unless you're talking about something like a Soundblaster Audigy Platinum. It has all kinds of connections for inputs and outputs.


well there is a mic jack on both of my computers so i guess you can input

Demonpenz
03-05-2006, 07:40 PM
well thanks i was able to do it without any money my soundcard had a jack on it

ZepSinger
03-05-2006, 08:35 PM
Old school analog way- face the Marshall cab inward to a far corner of the studio room. Mic close on one Celestion. Ambient mic is at opposite corner of the room. Use Sennheiser or Neumann mics. Mix to taste. For best results, record a second identical track, pan tracks at 3 and 9 O'Clock. Crank volume to just below pain threshold.

:rockon:

Demonpenz
03-05-2006, 11:26 PM
i was going to post my little ditty i recorded. I enjoyed playing E7 A7 B7 and trying to solo on it using audiogalixy or whatever but i don't know what frets to hit and i am too lazy to do anymore reading today

dr00d
03-06-2006, 10:38 AM
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Recording/Computer/Hardware?sku=184133

I have this...it works great.

edit: assuming you have a IEEE input on your computer..that is all you need. plug your guitar in to the front...this will also allow you to lay down tracks and merge them and it comes with software. CuBase--which has worked pretty good so far.