PDA

View Full Version : Advice: DirecTV problems


Bob Dole
03-07-2006, 07:02 AM
Got the second Tivo installed last week and now both it and the original Tivo claim to be "searching for signal" when Bob Dole tries to view any of the local channels.

Oval 3 LNB dish has 4 lines coming out to a 4 into 8 multiswitch. 2 out to one Tivo, 2 out to another Tivo, 5th out to a regular DTV receiver, other 3 outs are vacant.

Been back through the guided setup multiple times and cannot resolve the problem. Seems like whichever Tivo is set up first will find signal on all three birds, but the second one will fail on one of them. A, B and C are also listed in different order on each box.

Is the multiswitch crap, or is there another issue? To be honest, Bob Dole still is not sure why there are 4 cables coming out of a 3 LNB dish...

Mr. Laz
03-07-2006, 10:46 AM
To be honest, Bob Dole still is not sure why there are 4 cables coming out of a 3 LNB dish...
prolly cause your tivo has 2 tuners

should have 2 coax inputs on the back of your tivo so each tuner has it's own signal and you can record/watch separately

Bob Dole
03-07-2006, 10:47 AM
Bob Dole is going to be pissed if he can't record Boston Legal...

Mr. Laz
03-07-2006, 10:50 AM
Bob Dole is going to be pissed if he can't record Boston Legal...

sounds like they don't like that switch to me


you have to call and activate a new unit as well

Simply Red
03-07-2006, 10:57 AM
Got the second Tivo installed last week and now both it and the original Tivo claim to be "searching for signal" when Bob Dole tries to view any of the local channels.

Oval 3 LNB dish has 4 lines coming out to a 4 into 8 multiswitch. 2 out to one Tivo, 2 out to another Tivo, 5th out to a regular DTV receiver, other 3 outs are vacant.

Been back through the guided setup multiple times and cannot resolve the problem. Seems like whichever Tivo is set up first will find signal on all three birds, but the second one will fail on one of them. A, B and C are also listed in different order on each box.

Is the multiswitch crap, or is there another issue? To be honest, Bob Dole still is not sure why there are 4 cables coming out of a 3 LNB dish...

Well, uhh. You could call DTV if you have like, uhh... 2-hours to hold.

Bacon Cheeseburger
03-07-2006, 11:16 AM
And some of you people laugh at those of us who are still hanging on to our VCRs.

greg63
03-07-2006, 11:23 AM
Calling Skiptowne! :D

jidar
03-07-2006, 11:24 AM
And some of you people laugh at those of us who are still hanging on to our VCRs.

Tivo is great. If you had one, you'd laugh at vcrs too.

go bowe
03-07-2006, 11:31 AM
Tivo is great. If you had one, you'd laugh at vcrs too.even old dogs agree - dvr's are da bomb... :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Joe Seahawk
03-07-2006, 11:52 AM
Just an fyi. I had a bad 4X8 switch that was causing the same problem.. Try plugging your inputs into different ports on the switch to troubleshoot it.. Good luck.

Bob Dole
03-07-2006, 12:23 PM
The new card was activated.

Haven't called precisely because Bob Dole doesn't want the 2-hour hold aggravation.

Still not sure how 3 comes out 4.

Going to try different output ports.

Bob Dole
03-07-2006, 12:39 PM
Just piddling around with the non-Tivo unit and discovered signal problems (none) with the odd numbered transponders on the bird at 119 degrees, weak signal on 110 (66-73) and 92+ on 101.

Bob Dole thinks maybe it's a bad switch all the way around.

Skip Towne
03-07-2006, 12:55 PM
Just piddling around with the non-Tivo unit and discovered signal problems (none) with the odd numbered transponders on the bird at 119 degrees, weak signal on 110 (66-73) and 92+ on 101.

Bob Dole thinks maybe it's a bad switch all the way around.
It sounds like an incompatible multi switch to me. You have to use a cascadable multi switch since there is already a multiswitch in the LNB head. The fact that the triple LNB "sees" three birds has nothing to do with how many cables are hooked to it. All the muliswitch does is allow you more outlets. You can keep cascading multiswitches and wire up a hotel if you want to.

Bob Dole
03-07-2006, 01:04 PM
It sounds like an incompatible multi switch to me. You have to use a cascadable multi switch since there is already a multiswitch in the LNB head. The fact that the triple LNB "sees" three birds has nothing to do with how many cables are hooked to it. All the muliswitch does is allow you more outlets. You can keep cascading multiswitches and wire up a hotel if you want to.

Zinwell SAM-4803 4x8 multiswitch labelled "compatible with DIRECTV dish antenna, 18"x24" and 18"x20" multi-satellite dish antenna" and supplied and installed by a DirecTV tech.

The thing worked fine for the first 6 hours or so, then things have been flaky ever since.

Skip Towne
03-07-2006, 01:11 PM
Zinwell SAM-4803 4x8 multiswitch labelled "compatible with DIRECTV dish antenna, 18"x24" and 18"x20" multi-satellite dish antenna" and supplied and installed by a DirecTV tech.

The thing worked fine for the first 6 hours or so, then things have been flaky ever since.
That is the correct multiswitch. It could have gone bad or the LNB head could have gone bad. I'd try the other ports first but it sounds like one switch or the other is bad.

Skip Towne
03-07-2006, 01:12 PM
That is the correct multiswitch. It could have gone bad or the LNB head could have gone bad. I'd try the other ports first but it sounds like one switch or the other is bad.
Make sure all the connections are tight.

Skip Towne
03-07-2006, 01:15 PM
Make sure all the connections are tight.
If the wires are long enough, connect the two Tivos (4 wires) directly to the LNB head. If the problem goes away, it is the multiswitch that is bad. If not, the LNB head is bad.

dtebbe
03-07-2006, 01:21 PM
I would take 4 F barrel connectors and bypass the multi switch, running 2 lines from the dish to each Tivo, repeat guided setup. If that works then your multiswitch is bad...

But you can still use the 2 tivos.....

I would say there is a 99.9% chance the multiswitch is bad.

I had 2 of those cheap multiswitches go bad, then I bought a nice Terk, which has been chugging along over a year now.

DT

Bob Dole
03-07-2006, 01:54 PM
After much cussing and unhelpful DirecTV customer "service," Bob Dole has managed to get ahold of the installing technician's supervisor, who is on his way over with a new multiswitch.

Bob Dole already spent more time troubleshooting this thing than he should have. You guys have helped narrow it down to one of two possible failure points, which as much as Bob Dole is willing to do.

It's odd timing if one of the LNBs failed a few hours after the switch was installed, but stranger things have happened...

Thanks for your help.

Bob Dole
03-07-2006, 02:04 PM
Okay...Bob Dole lied.

Are these ground wires perhaps supposed to be connected to something? Bob Dole just went back to the multi switch and started jacking with wires and neither cable's ground is connected to anything,

The Bad Guy
03-07-2006, 02:09 PM
Okay...Bob Dole lied.

Are these ground wires perhaps supposed to be connected to something? Bob Dole just went back to the multi switch and started jacking with wires and neither cable's ground is connected to anything,

When they bring over the multiswitch, make sure they ground the wires.

Have them hook it up to ensure it works right.

Skip Towne
03-07-2006, 02:26 PM
The ground wires do absolutely nothing except make the NEC happy. F*ck the NEC.

Calcountry
03-07-2006, 04:28 PM
After much cussing and unhelpful DirecTV customer "service," Bob Dole has managed to get ahold of the installing technician's supervisor, who is on his way over with a new multiswitch.

Bob Dole already spent more time troubleshooting this thing than he should have. You guys have helped narrow it down to one of two possible failure points, which as much as Bob Dole is willing to do.

It's odd timing if one of the LNBs failed a few hours after the switch was installed, but stranger things have happened...

Thanks for your help.Fug it dude, just call them up and apply for the movers special.