PDA

View Full Version : HDTV and Directv...


ChiefsFanatic
03-15-2006, 11:38 AM
What do I need to get HD Channels with Directv. I also want the local HD braodcasts, for Chiefs games, etc.

I remember someone got screwed by Directv and bought all the wrong stuff, or something like that.

I know I need an HD Receiver, but I just want to get everything right.

Any help would be appreciated.

ChiefsFanatic

'Hamas' Jenkins
03-15-2006, 05:44 PM
You can get a Direc TV H-10 receiver for free after MIR from any of the big box electronics dealers. It also has two built in HD tuners, so you can hook up an external antenna for the HD broadcasts of Chiefs games and other local fare in high def.

I have the H-10 and an external antenna. The setup process on the satellite for the HD antenna is a breeze if you follow the book.

Let me know if you have any additional ?s.

ChiefsfaninPA
03-15-2006, 06:51 PM
You can get a Direc TV H-10 receiver for free after MIR from any of the big box electronics dealers. It also has two built in HD tuners, so you can hook up an external antenna for the HD broadcasts of Chiefs games and other local fare in high def.

I have the H-10 and an external antenna. The setup process on the satellite for the HD antenna is a breeze if you follow the book.

Let me know if you have any additional ?s.


What type of external antenna do you use for you over the air HD antenna.

ChiefsFanatic
03-16-2006, 01:13 AM
What type of external antenna do you use for you over the air HD antenna.

Yes, what kind?

HMc
03-16-2006, 03:12 AM
The same type you've used for NTSC reception. At least that principle works here. Same antenna pulls analogue and digital - as long as it picks up UHF.

note:here is the other side of the world so my advice is worthless really.

'Hamas' Jenkins
03-16-2006, 08:36 AM
Well, I rent so I have to use a f*cking indoor antenna. If you are in a similar predicament be sure to get one with at least a 30db boost or you won't be able to pull in anything outside of 20 miles away.

If you have the skrilla to spend, I'd recommend going to Radio Shack and buying their VHF/UHF 190 model and an antenna rotator. This will ensure you can pick up all the locals you desire. (This setup will cost you about 200 bucks in parts and cables, 99 for the antenna, 70 for the rotor, and 30-50 bucks in cables, mounts, and masts

ChiefsFanatic
03-16-2006, 08:58 AM
Well, I rent so I have to use a f*cking indoor antenna. If you are in a similar predicament be sure to get one with at least a 30db boost or you won't be able to pull in anything outside of 20 miles away.

If you have the skrilla to spend, I'd recommend going to Radio Shack and buying their VHF/UHF 190 model and an antenna rotator. This will ensure you can pick up all the locals you desire. (This setup will cost you about 200 bucks in parts and cables, 99 for the antenna, 70 for the rotor, and 30-50 bucks in cables, mounts, and masts

I already get network locals on my Directv package, so are you talking network HD signals - ABC NBC CBS FOX etc?

'Hamas' Jenkins
03-16-2006, 09:27 AM
Yes

ChiefsFanatic
03-17-2006, 10:12 AM
Yes

Does this antenna use the receiver, or does the TV need an HD receiver already?

'Hamas' Jenkins
03-21-2006, 08:19 PM
Does this antenna use the receiver, or does the TV need an HD receiver already?

The Direc HD receiver has a built in over the air (OTA) HD-Tuner as well as the regular satellite tuners. So, you can hook your antenna in to the satellite receiver (through the antenna input), and then you will go through a setup on the guide of your satellite receiver that determines what HD channels you can pull in over the air (if you get a Direc TV H10 receiver, this processor is outlined clearly in the user's guide, so you don't have to worry about potential errors or foulups). If you have any other ?s, just reply or PM.

ChiefsFanatic
03-22-2006, 07:16 AM
The Direc HD receiver has a built in over the air (OTA) HD-Tuner as well as the regular satellite tuners. So, you can hook your antenna in to the satellite receiver (through the antenna input), and then you will go through a setup on the guide of your satellite receiver that determines what HD channels you can pull in over the air (if you get a Direc TV H10 receiver, this processor is outlined clearly in the user's guide, so you don't have to worry about potential errors or foulups). If you have any other ?s, just reply or PM.

Thanks