PDA

View Full Version : How many here

stevieray
03-23-2006, 07:36 PM
...are afraid of speaking in public...or in front of large groups of people?

isn't this supposed to be one of the biggest fears?

JBucc
03-23-2006, 07:38 PM
Not so much. I remember the first time I had to give a speech in front of the class in Jr. High. I was kind of suprised I wasn't really all that nervous since I was kind of the quiet type.

Dunit35
03-23-2006, 07:41 PM
I'm the quiet type unless I'm drunk, then I talk up a storm. I haven't had to speak in public or in front of a large group, but doing that is a big fear of mine.

Luzap
03-23-2006, 07:41 PM
I guess most people don't like it.

That's how I make my living.

Luz
i enjoy it...

jAZ
03-23-2006, 07:50 PM
Depends... if I am able to just "wing it"... and I don't have either a script or a specific set of points that I have to be sure to get to... then I can be very comfortable.

I get nervous, but not a fear.

The more I know the subejct the easier it is...

If I'm unprepared and I'm expected to speak to some script or points... you'll see it.

Count Zarth
03-23-2006, 07:58 PM
I'm pretty comfortable with it since I started doing it when I was 10. One of the few advantages of being a Jehovah's Witness.

DaKCMan AP
I enjoy it. I spoke in front of 1,000+ people at graduation, speak weekly in front of 100 people at organization meetings and also to visiting groups of middle/high school students every now and then who come for the Gator Engineering Outreach program among other things.

Saulbadguy
I actually prefer it. I'm terrible talking with someone one on one.

sedated
03-23-2006, 08:02 PM
I'm cool ONLY if I make a joke right away.

Once everyone laughs I feel right at home.

Silence bothers me.

KC_John
03-23-2006, 08:04 PM
Im not good in large groups of people..I would begin stuttering and get real nervous. So count me in as one with that fear :rolleyes:

Skip Towne
03-23-2006, 08:05 PM
I suspected you'd like it. You like to talk.