PDA

View Full Version : Help! Need car buying advice...

alnorth
04-22-2006, 10:59 AM
OK, so I'm in the market for a car later this year, probably fall or winter, and I figured of all the places in our wide world to gather life-altering financial advice, Chiefsplanet is probably about as credible and trustworthy as any other place.

My situation: I graduated from college last year and have a decent entry-level job in Des Moines, but I'm driving an older car that my parents drove, I basically took over the payments but its not in my name. I've told them to be ready to take the car back later this year, but I hardly know where to start.

The car: I dont need a new car, used is fine. However, if a new car is affordable, fine. I'm probably looking at $15-$20k. I currently have rediculous gas mileage (less than 15 mpg), and would like to improve that, BUT I've learned that driving in Iowa's icy weather is not a lot of fun without 4WD, and its hard to get that with good gas mileage. I have no loyalty to a particular car brand, foreign or domestic, any suggestions on make/model? What should be considered when deciding on whether to get the extended warranty?

Down payment: I've got $200 saved so far in a safe online 4% money market account with ING. I figure I could probably afford to squirrel away 400/month, and maybe more if I absolutely have to untill car buying time. How big of a down payment do you need before you start to get favorable terms with financing? Assume I will have no trade-in value and the only down payment available to me will be whatever cash I can save in the next 5 months.