PDA

View Full Version : Mapquest sucks!!

Skip Towne
05-24-2006, 02:58 PM
I've been using that site for several years to find addresses. So they recently changed it and now it doesn't work. Does anybody have a better site than Mapquest?

Phobia
05-24-2006, 03:01 PM
I wouldn't recommend another site. On a recent trip, I used mapquest to print directions and my wife chose some other site. The "other" site sent me over 200 miles further than mapquest to reach the same destination.

I understand some sites will vary slightly, but a 20% disparity is inexcusable.

noa
mapquest sucks and the sky is blue.
its not perfect, but try maps.google.com

recxjake
i love mapquest, your probably doing it wrong

StcChief
05-24-2006, 03:03 PM
map quest has gone downhill in the last few years.

Really like maps.google.com between the map/sattelite view.....pretty nice. Google Earth Pro is nice desktop app too.

Donger
05-24-2006, 03:03 PM
http://www.expedia.com/

Find a map.

I use this for my travels and it is far more accurate than Mapquest. I haven't used that site in years.

morphius
05-24-2006, 03:08 PM
I wouldn't recommend another site. On a recent trip, I used mapquest to print directions and my wife chose some other site. The "other" site sent me over 200 miles further than mapquest to reach the same destination.

I understand some sites will vary slightly, but a 20% disparity is inexcusable.
I ran into that trying to get directions to Kearney, NE from KC a few years ago.

For long trips I tend to use expedia/mapquest/google/yahoo to see which one works out better. I know they gave me a lot of options for my drive to and from San Diego a few years back.

DJJasonp
05-24-2006, 03:09 PM
Yahoo maps seems to work pretty well for me....

Simplex3
05-24-2006, 03:09 PM
mapquest sucks and the sky is blue.
its not perfect, but try maps.google.com
Yes, because it's not enough to let Google know what you're researching, you should also let them know where you're going to be.