PDA

View Full Version : How can "vanilla" be the excuse?

el borracho
08-17-2006, 09:00 PM
Aren't the other teams running "vanilla" schemes in the preseason, also? I'm no expert but I'd say the problem is our lineman. Someone explain why their vanilla is so much better than ours.

tk13
08-17-2006, 09:02 PM
They aren't being vanilla. Look at how many bootlegs and misdirections and end arounds and reverses we've faced. And the Giants were much more aggressive at blitzing on defense, while we sat back and didn't show much defensively.

Now, that's not to say we'll be good or bad when the season starts, but I think we're definitely more "vanilla" than our opponents so far.

|Zach|
08-17-2006, 09:03 PM
No, I don't believe the teams we have played are running vanilla...esp the Texans.

stevieray
08-17-2006, 09:08 PM
The last time the Giants were on that field, they got blanked 23-0.

Coupled with Coughlins ego, and there you go.

We still have to play better.

BigRock
08-17-2006, 09:09 PM
You don't start the game by running a reverse if you're trying to be vanilla.

tk13
08-17-2006, 09:10 PM
We also haven't done any shifting, motion on offense.

I can understand why people are concerned about the D, but I don't know about the O. We always do this. We just aren't showing any motion, shifting, any of the actual things we do.

|Zach|
08-17-2006, 09:12 PM
That soft zone is not going to be played every play this year...

Mecca
08-17-2006, 09:16 PM
I'm sorry guys, misdirections and end arounds are basic parts of an offense. It's not a trick play, it's in the basic offensive playbook.

I'm embarrassed to be a Chiefs fan after reading things like this. You guys should be more upset that the defense can't defend rather than crying about how the Giants didn't play nice.

stevieray
08-17-2006, 09:18 PM
I'm embarrassed to be a Chiefs fan after reading things like this.

ROFL

BigRock
08-17-2006, 09:19 PM