PDA

View Full Version : Bennett: Herm wants 580 carries this season

dirk digler
08-30-2006, 12:15 PM
Micheal Bennett was on 810 this morning and said that Herm told him they are targeting 580 carries for the season for the team.

I am not very good at math but that is 36.25 carries per game. Poor LJ he may not last to see his next contract.

Messier
08-30-2006, 12:19 PM
But give 10 of those carries a game to Bennett.

Count Alex's Losses
You're not very bright, are you?

The Chiefs ran the ball 520 times last year.

You're only talking about 4 more rushes per game, and we have a quality backup this year. LJ isn't going to run it 36 times a game, geez.

jAZ
I'm guessing MB is pointing that out because he expects to see more carries than a #2 RB might otherwise expect.

rad
08-30-2006, 12:20 PM
That doesn't mean LJ is getting all those carries. We do have more than one running back, you know.

LJ was on ESPN last night and said he needs at least 30 carries to get going. I can live with Bennett getting 5-8 carries per game.

dirk digler
08-30-2006, 12:25 PM

You're only talking about 4 more rushes per game, and we have a quality backup this year. LJ isn't going to run it 36 times a game, geez.

I realized that we ran the ball 520 times last year but you do realize that if LJ gets over 400 carries like they want him to do this may limit his career. So do decide to run him in the ground or not?

BTW this is what Petro was talking about today that when the last few RB's who reached the 400 carry plateau they have fallen off dramatically or their careers have ended.

Curtis Martin
Jamal Anderson
Terrell Davis
Jamal Lewis

Brock
08-30-2006, 12:28 PM
JMO, but Bennett isn't your average backup RB. I'm betting he's going to carry the ball quite a bit.

Count Alex's Losses
08-30-2006, 12:28 PM
LJ isn't going to carry it 400 times this year.

Pitt Gorilla
08-30-2006, 12:30 PM