PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning up my Hardrive


jspchief
09-08-2006, 09:45 PM
My ancient computer came with a 14 GB hard drive.

I've since added another 40 GB drive, but due to some screw up on my part (maybe something with fat32 partion?), my computer only recognizes about 23 Gbs of it.

Anyway, I've learned to get by with what I have. The problem is, even though I install all new programs on the second drive, the original 13 GB drive is constantly filling up. I literally have no idea why, but about once per month I get a low disk space warning.

What I'd really like to do is clean out all the crap on the smaller drive. I know there's more useless crap than I can possibly imagine, but I don't know how to decipher important from useless, and I'm not sure what stuff I can simply move over to the other drive.

Any tips or suggestions?

Simplex3
09-08-2006, 09:51 PM
Start by moving the pagefile to the bigger drive, that will likely help to the tune of about a gig.

Next, remove any Restore Points that XP has been saving for you. That will take up copius disk space as well.

SLAG
09-08-2006, 09:53 PM
Most Simple method is

Go to My Computer..

Go to the Old Hard Drive

Right Click

Choose PROPERTIES

then Click on Disk Clean up

that is if your running windows XP

jspchief
09-08-2006, 09:58 PM
Start by moving the pagefile to the bigger drive, that will likely help to the tune of about a gig.

Next, remove any Restore Points that XP has been saving for you. That will take up copius disk space as well.OK, bear with me.

What is pagefile?

And where would I find those restore points?

At first glance, the biggest space hog is the windows folder at about 3.5 gigs.

Then almost 3 gigs in program files. Can I just move my Program files on the C drive to the program files folder on my F drive? Drag and drop?

Simplex3
09-08-2006, 10:02 PM
OK, bear with me.

What is pagefile?

And where would I find those restore points?

At first glance, the biggest space hog is the windows folder at about 3.5 gigs.

Then almost 3 gigs in program files. Can I just move my Program files on the C drive to the program files folder on my F drive? Drag and drop?
Moving the "My Programs" folder is a bitch. A major bitch, IIRC.

The pagefile is the space on the disk used by Windows for virtual memory.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307886

The restore points are typically created by Windows every time you install a driver or a piece of software. Each one takes mucho disk space, so punting them if you don't need them is a good plan:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/learnmore/tips/mcgill1.mspx

SLAG
09-08-2006, 10:03 PM
Then almost 3 gigs in program files. Can I just move my Program files on the C drive to the program files folder on my F drive? Drag and drop?


NOT RECCOMENDED...


You will mess up major things doing that...


check your my documents folder and the place where you download things for the big things... clear your browsers cache and un install any programs that you have not used in 6 months

jspchief
09-08-2006, 10:26 PM
heh. Just found a video of the entire Chiefs/Falcons 8TD game.

Hate to let it go, but that was 3.5 GBs right there.

Simplex3
09-08-2006, 10:30 PM
heh. Just found a video of the entire Chiefs/Falcons 8TD game.

Hate to let it go, but that was 3.5 GBs right there.
That's what DVD burners are for.

jspchief
09-08-2006, 10:36 PM
That's what DVD burners are for.No joke, my processor is too small to handle a DVD burner. 750 mhz AMD Athlon.

If I had one, I could clear about 12 GBs of the crap on my computer.

Simplex3
09-08-2006, 10:39 PM
No joke, my processor is too small to handle a DVD burner. 750 mhz AMD Athlon.

If I had one, I could clear about 12 GBs of the crap on my computer.
I have a p3-866 that's run a DVD burner just fine. What you don't want to do on that is try and decode a DVD into an AVI, but just burning the avi straight to a dvd so you can play it back on the PC takes no more horsepower than a normal cd burner.

jspchief
09-08-2006, 10:45 PM
Everytime I've looked, they've listed system reqs higher than what I had. I just assumed it wouldn't work. (I've certainly tried games with higher reqs with no luck).

I keep telling myself I'll just get a new comp. I can get a dell for under $400 that exceeds what I have in most departments. There's just a comfort level with this old beast.

jspchief
09-08-2006, 10:46 PM
I moved the pagefile and delted all my restore points. That along with some more cleaning/moving has me in pretty good shape. I appreciate the help.