PDA

View Full Version : Tony Gonzalez's Value

jspchief
10-15-2006, 07:57 PM
Gonzo is up for a contract at the end of 2006. After watching him the last few years, I wonder what his value really is to this team. He seems to lack the playmaking ability he once had. Yea, he's still one of the best TEs in the game. But he's no longer a substitute for a WR like he has been for us over the years. He's not particularly fast, he doesn't break a lot of tackles, and to be honest he doesn't have the greatest hands anymore. He's not some nightmare for defensive coordinators any longer.

I'm just beginning to wonder how much he's really worth to this team. In the past he was a guy you could rely on when other facets of our offense struggled. Now he's just another piece that only seems to work when everything else is working.

If Gonzo comes looking for a contract that puts him in the top 5 of the pay scale for TEs, is he still worth it?

JBucc
10-15-2006, 08:00 PM
No. If he wants Vernon Davis, Antonio Gates money let him walk. If he wants money for what he is, an aging TE past his prime he can stay as long as he wants.

Bill Parcells
10-15-2006, 08:01 PM
That is a very good question..

I would trade him for A)Immediate needs to get the Chiefs over the top right now.or B)For draft picks and think about the future

Gonzo is built for an attacking passing offense..something the Chiefs are going away from right now

Claynus
10-15-2006, 08:01 PM
Absolutely not. I've come to accept that harsh fact. They better not break the bank on him.

Claynus
10-15-2006, 08:02 PM
Gonzo is built for an attacking passing offense..w

Gonzo is built for an offense where he is not required to be the main receiving threat. He'd be ideal in a place like Denver (gulp) or a place where they have a premier wideout and RB.

Sure-Oz
10-15-2006, 08:03 PM