PDA

View Full Version : DSL question

Sure-Oz
10-23-2006, 08:52 PM
I just switched from comcast to yahoo at&t dsl, they sent us these filter things for all our phones, problem is we have like 8 phones and 4 filters are on them leaving a few left without it. My connection keeps dropping and then the modem restarts to get it going. Do i need filters on every device using hte line to stop this problem?

Seriously pissin me off

SLAG
10-23-2006, 08:53 PM
Yes you would need filters on all your phones....

sorry

jjjayb
10-23-2006, 08:53 PM
Yes. You need a filter for every phone.

Deberg_1990
10-23-2006, 08:55 PM
Why so many phones?? Can you retract some that you dont use that often??

Sure-Oz
10-23-2006, 09:20 PM
Thanks guys, yeah i am probably going to unplug them or get more filters on them. Honestly the phone question we got a pretty big house, and some are old phones in rooms that we dont use. They just piled up, thanks for the help, im new to dsl.

Lzen
10-24-2006, 10:52 AM
You need a filter on every phone jack because the feed coming into the house carries both the DSL signal and the regular phone. The filter filters out the DSL signal. As you have seen, the DSL signal can really screw with your phone signal if there is no filter. One thing I've also noticed is that if your phone line isn't grounded properly, the DSL filters fry out. I burned through about 3 of those filters before I realized my phone line was not grounded properly. :shake:

htismaqe
10-24-2006, 11:09 AM
The filters are only required for the devices that needs the filters.

The DSL digital signal can cause problems for analog phones and modem-type devices (like FAX machines or your DirecTV receiver).

Not having filters on all of the devices wouldn't necessarily cause your DSL to go down. However, having 8 analog devices would definitely be a problem.

Sure-Oz
10-29-2006, 01:37 AM