PDA

View Full Version : Question about TV antennas and Directv HD


ILChief
01-02-2007, 08:57 PM
I just got Directv HD. Directv doesn't offer my locals in HD. I have an antenna in my attic and I can get my local ABC and NBC channels with a strong signal (>75) and my FOX channel with a decent (around 50). But CBS is nothing, 0. I can adjust it to get CBS with a strong signal, but then I lose the other 3. Can I add another antenna to pick up CBS and use a multiplexer/splitter? to combine the the two antennas to one cable and plug that into the Antenna in on the back of my Directv HD receiver? Or will this not work at all?

Any TV experts?

Bwana
01-02-2007, 09:00 PM
Skip would be the man you would want to talk to about this. Skip is a direct TV guru.

Buck
01-02-2007, 09:00 PM
Theres another thread about this same thing, you should search for it, I bet it has the answer.

Frazod
01-02-2007, 09:02 PM
What channel does your local CBS affiliate broadcast on? If it's 2 out of Chicago, you're screwed - the small antenna can't pick up a channel that low.

Trust me, I know. :#

ILChief
01-02-2007, 09:09 PM
What channel does your local CBS affiliate broadcast on? If it's 2 out of Chicago, you're screwed - the small antenna can't pick up a channel that low.

Trust me, I know. :#

Channel 12 is my regular CBS station but i think the HD is broadcast on like 57

Frazod
01-02-2007, 09:11 PM
Channel 12 is my regular CBS station but i think the HD is broadcast on like 57

Well, I don't know what to tell you. Perhaps the signals originate from different directions? Being in the Chicago suburbs, all of my local channels broadcast from downtown.

dtebbe
01-02-2007, 09:13 PM
What is your zipcode?

DT

Hog Rider
01-02-2007, 09:39 PM
I just did that recently while trying to bring in an Iowa CBS affiliate so I could watch the game Sunday. No luck on getting CBS out of Iowa, but I did get the Quad Cities stations (NBC,Fox and some others) as well as the Peoria area stations NBC, FOX, CBS, ABC, WTVP public, etc. etc. I used two of the Terk/Zenith style - indoors of course - and they were even inside my daughters bedroom closet where her 23 inch HDTV is located.

I'll be using the second antenna on the big screen we'll be getting soon.

I don't know if it is supposed to work, but it did for me. I really only need the Peoria channels, but I found if I used only one antenna pointed at the Quad Cities, many of the Peoria area stations still came in. And they were in the opposite direction.

jidar
01-02-2007, 09:41 PM
You can use any regular coax splitter to combine the signals (just put it in reverse of how you would normally use it), however you lose about 3db of signal strength in doing so, and there is also a decent chance of interfance just mucking up the signals in general. Still you should try that first since you might have one laying around and even if you don't they're cheap as dirt and you can get them anywhere you can get coax cables (wal-mart).

If that doesn't work there are combiners that have circuitry that let you combine ranges from each antenna so that you shouldn't get interference.

ILChief
01-03-2007, 06:51 AM
What is your zipcode?

DT

62960

robito
01-03-2007, 07:07 AM
dsa

ILChief
01-03-2007, 07:12 AM
dsa

what is dsa? :)
Direct Selling Association (http://www.dsa.org/) Division of State Architect (http://www.dsa.ca.gov/) Democratic Socialists of America (http://www.dsausa.org/) Down's Syndrome Association (http://www.dsa-uk.com/)