PDA

View Full Version : Computer issue

Coach
01-21-2007, 08:22 PM
My brother brought his computer here to get, whatever issue it is that needs to be fixed.

Here how it goes. I boot up the computer, and it runs fine, and it comes to the Windows XP symbol with "Windows XP" on it, while the background is black, which is normal to his previous boot-up.

However, after that, the only thing that shows up is the mouse curser. There is nothing on the background, as it's just all black. There's nothing there.

What is the problem, and what action(s) do I need to take?

Thanks,

Coach

Buck
01-21-2007, 08:25 PM
Im no computer expert, but it sounds like EXPLORER.exe isnt running. If you can do CTRL+ALT+DEL and the window pops up, see if there is a process called EXPLORER.exe running

Lzen
01-21-2007, 08:26 PM
Computer.....window......drop.

luv
01-21-2007, 08:26 PM
Im no computer expert, but it sounds like EXPLORER.exe isnt running. If you can do CTRL+ALT+DEL and the window pops up, see if there is a process called EXPLORER.exe running
Shouldn't you be drunk?

Buck
01-21-2007, 08:27 PM
Shouldn't you be drunk?

Nope, but I am extremely hungover. Excedrin is good.

Coach
01-21-2007, 08:30 PM

No, I think the issue is that when I boot it up, it'll show the background black, with a Windows XP symbol, as it has previously done before, then after that, it goes black, which is normal, then the mouse curser appears, which is normal, but after that, is what is messed up. There isn't the background for the desktop, the icons, the start button on the bottom left, etc etc. The background is just completely black.

Buck
01-21-2007, 08:31 PM