PDA

View Full Version : I need a DSL modem.


Skip Towne
02-11-2007, 01:23 PM
Mine burned up and the stingy phone company won't give me another one. I'm on ATT phone co. Will any modem work or does it have to be a certain kind? Anybody got an extra one laying around?

OnTheWarpath58
02-11-2007, 01:25 PM
I may have an extra 2Wire from SBC/ATT.

I'll look around later.....

Count Alex's Losses
02-11-2007, 01:28 PM
Any one will work.

You could just go to best buy and get one...

Skip Towne
02-11-2007, 01:31 PM
Any one will work.

You could just go to best buy and get one...
Or maybe Warpath will send me one.

Phobia
02-11-2007, 01:32 PM
I might have one I'll send pretty darn cheap.

Count Alex's Losses
02-11-2007, 01:36 PM
Not trying to be a jerk here, but do you know how to set it up? ATT would come and set it up for you.

Skip Towne
02-11-2007, 02:10 PM
Not trying to be a jerk here, but do you know how to set it up? ATT would come and set it up for you.
No, they won't. I set up the first one. I had to borrow a computer to do it.

Count Alex's Losses
02-11-2007, 02:17 PM
No, they won't. I set up the first one. I had to borrow a computer to do it.

I'm 100 percent certain if you buy another modem from them (or you can probably lease it for a small fee on your bill every month) they will come and set it up for you.

Skip Towne
02-11-2007, 02:35 PM
I'm 100 percent certain if you buy another modem from them (or you can probably lease it for a small fee on your bill every month) they will come and set it up for you.
I did it less than 6 months ago and they would not come out and install it. Telephone support only.

Bill Parcells
02-11-2007, 02:42 PM
Go with Verizon DSL if you can..you will never have to pay for another modem.ATT sucks!

KcKing
02-11-2007, 02:46 PM
I have a modem just laying around... send me a pm if you still need it

Calcountry
02-11-2007, 03:31 PM
I just went Clearwire, screw the new AT&T.

Sit there and have tons of advertising for the past 20 years bragging about what they are going to deliver and have delivered nothing.

OnTheWarpath58
02-11-2007, 03:39 PM
Or maybe Warpath will send me one.

Sorry Skip. Thought I had an extra. No such luck.

TopJet2
02-11-2007, 05:20 PM
Call your local cable provider!!!:p

Pants
02-11-2007, 05:21 PM
Get cable, IMO.

Skip Towne
02-11-2007, 05:32 PM
Call your local cable provider!!!:p
I did. They are thieves. "Introductory offer" is $29.99 for 6 months (with a contract) then it goes to $39.99. DSL is $12.99.

Skip Towne
02-11-2007, 05:35 PM
KC Kings is sending me one he has. Mucho thanks to him.

Phobia
02-11-2007, 05:41 PM
That's pretty nice of him. I'd give you mine but I paid too much for it to just give away.

Skip Towne
02-11-2007, 05:48 PM
That's pretty nice of him. I'd give you mine but I paid too much for it to just give away.
I agree. It is very nice of him.