PDA

View Full Version : Food: The Healthy Stuff

Fire Me Boy!
06-03-2007, 08:13 PM
I love being on Chiefsplanet and the way so many here are great cooks... let this be our official forum for healthy food. What'cha got?

luv
06-03-2007, 08:14 PM
Please keep them small and simple as well (for those cooking for one).

Fire Me Boy!
06-03-2007, 08:17 PM
So, I'm diabetic... and I'm trying to lose weight and generally get healthier. Using a traditional diabetic diet, I eat a lot of chicken, fruits and veggies.

Well... not so much veggies. I'm kinda picky in that arena.

As I'm fairly new to this diet, I haven't figured a lot out yet. But I've been eating a lot of chicken and rice. I get most of my variety by switching up the types of rice and the rubs I use on my chicken (which I sometimes grill, sometimes broil, etc.).

Tonight, I've got some lean venison chili. Once it's all cooked, I'm mixing in some short grain brown rice.

I've made healthy jambalaya that turned out well. Used shrimp, chicken breast, and lean cajun turkey sausages.

What do you guys do when you get on a health kick?

Donger
06-03-2007, 08:18 PM
Funyuns and beef jerky.

ChiTown
06-03-2007, 08:22 PM
I generally always eat healthy.

My wife is a fitness nut and she cooks healthy dinners every night. Tonight, I pitched in and grilled salmon on the 'cue - marinated in a honey mustard and lime sauce, with steamed asparagus and rice. Delish.

Saulbadguy
06-03-2007, 08:22 PM
What do you guys do when you get on a health kick?
Less of whatever i'm already eating.

Coach
06-03-2007, 08:24 PM
I know that I haven't ate a greasy hamburger (like the shit kinds from McDonalds) for quite some time, which I'm proud of myself, considering that I used to eat at least 3 or 4 hamburgers per week.

My next goal (or hopefully to) is to try to drink less pop.

luv
06-03-2007, 08:25 PM