PDA

View Full Version : Ethical question for Planet Golfers


ChiefsFanatic
06-10-2007, 04:37 PM
Alright, here is the question. If you normally start off by hitting a bucket of balls before a round, but instead of hitting a bucket of balls, you decide to play 27 [the front, the back, and the front again] can you take your back nine and your second front nine score together? What if you stipulated before the round that the first front nine was your warm-up session? [which I did not do]

I am trying to justify my first "round" in the 70's. I shot 46 on the front, and 38 on the back. I followed that up with a 40 on the front. Normally I would warm up, but it was raining a little, and I wanted to start before it had a chance to get bad. But it became beautiful, and I played 27.

84 would still be my best round ever, but I would love to tell people I shot a 78.

Phobia
06-10-2007, 04:42 PM
As far as I'm concerned you can mix either the first two or the last two nines. If you had shot a 38 on the first nine and a 38 on the last nine you couldn't put those scores together for a 76. I would have a problem with that.

Stewie
06-10-2007, 04:57 PM
Your first 18 is your score.

Cochise
06-10-2007, 05:27 PM
I would say the first 18 too.

ChiefsFanatic
06-10-2007, 05:43 PM
As far as I'm concerned you can mix either the first two or the last two nines. If you had shot a 38 on the first nine and a 38 on the last nine you couldn't put those scores together for a 76. I would have a problem with that.

So, as long as the 18 are consecutive?

Phobia
06-10-2007, 06:02 PM
So, as long as the 18 are consecutive?
IMO, but then what do I know?

I don't know everything about golf, but I do play my ball where it lies. I mark my penalty strokes. I don't carry 18 clubs. I don't walk on my playing partners' lines. I replace my divots and repair my ball marks.

I could be mistaken about the etiquette for scoring your 18 when you played 27. It's entirely possible but I don't have an ethical problem with it.

crazycoffey
06-10-2007, 06:04 PM
So, as long as the 18 are consecutive?


yup, I would say that's ok, you are not a scratch player, not a professional - you are a "weekend" golfer (like many of us).

I say, because of this, it's not your occupation, that it is ok to bend the rules slightly, as long as it's not to win money from others.... you should be able to say the best round of 18 holes was a 78.

good job....


my best round ever was a 79, about 10 years ago, I hit the bucket of balls first then played 18, ate lunch and played 18 more, the second 18 was the 78. I played that course all summer long, it was Heidelberg Germany.

OnTheWarpath58
06-10-2007, 06:24 PM
IMO, but then what do I know?

I don't know everything about golf, but I do play my ball where it lies. I mark my penalty strokes. I don't carry 18 clubs. I don't walk on my playing partners' lines. I replace my divots and repair my ball marks.

I could be mistaken about the etiquette for scoring your 18 when you played 27. It's entirely possible but I don't have an ethical problem with it.

I would agree.

As long as it's 18 consecutive holes, I personally don't see a problem.

Are you wanting to use the score towards your handicap? I'd check the USGA website.

Phil, you and I need to hit the links next time I'm in town.....

Simplex3
06-10-2007, 06:27 PM
Congrats on the 78 and screw anyone that says otherwise.

Predarat
06-10-2007, 06:28 PM
I say count your lowest 18 and let that be your score even if they are not back to back. Heck count your best 9, times it by 2 and say thats it. Anything more than that is taking it wayyyyyyyyyy too far. But this is also coming from someone who has kicked the ball into the fairway a time or two and teed up on second shots.

Bob Dole
06-10-2007, 06:28 PM
IMO, but then what do I know?

I don't know everything about golf, but I do play my ball where it lies. I mark my penalty strokes. I don't carry 18 clubs. I don't walk on my playing partners' lines. I replace my divots and repair my ball marks.

I could be mistaken about the etiquette for scoring your 18 when you played 27. It's entirely possible but I don't have an ethical problem with it.

You also moon people.

But Bob Dole digresses... Bob Dole would agree that any consecutive 18 is acceptable.

BWillie
06-10-2007, 06:30 PM
Alright, here is the question. If you normally start off by hitting a bucket of balls before a round, but instead of hitting a bucket of balls, you decide to play 27 [the front, the back, and the front again] can you take your back nine and your second front nine score together? What if you stipulated before the round that the first front nine was your warm-up session? [which I did not do]

I am trying to justify my first "round" in the 70's. I shot 46 on the front, and 38 on the back. I followed that up with a 40 on the front. Normally I would warm up, but it was raining a little, and I wanted to start before it had a chance to get bad. But it became beautiful, and I played 27.

84 would still be my best round ever, but I would love to tell people I shot a 78.

The first 18 should be your score, unless the people you were playing with and you both acknowledged the first nine was for fun and a warm up, and that your back and front nine score was going to count for your 18 hole score no matter what. I don't think you can pick and chose what nine's you should be able to use. But if you are playing for fun, and you can justify it to yourself without any guilt..who cares.

I used to play nine holes all the time when I was younger and really into golf. I never had time, nor wanted to spent 5 hours in a day on golf for 18 so I would just play nine holes. I few times I would of shot in the 60's or low 70's if you based consecutive nine holes. The best score I've ever shot was a 69, but it was on a 58000 yard joke par 70 track. But I've shot 34 on nine holes before on consecutive days but alas I could not get myself to count it for 18 holes,...and none of my golfer friends would recognize my 68 either as a real 18 hole score.

Miles
06-10-2007, 06:35 PM
I have always felt the first 18 is your score.

Phobia
06-10-2007, 06:41 PM
Phil, you and I need to hit the links next time I'm in town.....
You don't want to play with me. I played 9 today before calling it a day due to overcrowding on the course. I'm sure I shot a 50. First time I've played since a scramble last fall. I'm as bad at golf right now as I was the first day I fell in love with the game.

chief52
06-10-2007, 06:46 PM
You're first 18 is your score.

Your first 18...no doubt with me or the guys I play with how we would handle that. Nice round no matter how you stack it,though.

Using your preference, a guy could always go back out on the front 9 if he had a good back 9 in an attempt to better his score for the day. I can not see how that would be ethical.

P.S. As far as your handicap is concerned, you would have to record all 27 holes anyway.

OnTheWarpath58
06-10-2007, 07:19 PM
You don't want to play with me. I played 9 today before calling it a day due to overcrowding on the course. I'm sure I shot a 50. First time I've played since a scramble last fall. I'm as bad at golf right now as I was the first day I fell in love with the game.

I'm in the same boat.

Used to consistently shoot in the low 80's.

Was in a car accident, took a couple of years off, and now I hover around the 90-100 range.

One of my regular partners shoots high 70's-low 80's.

One usually shoots 100-115.

Makes no difference to me.

ChiefsFanatic
06-10-2007, 07:24 PM
IMO, but then what do I know?

I don't know everything about golf, but I do play my ball where it lies. I mark my penalty strokes. I don't carry 18 clubs. I don't walk on my playing partners' lines. I replace my divots and repair my ball marks.

I could be mistaken about the etiquette for scoring your 18 when you played 27. It's entirely possible but I don't have an ethical problem with it.

That is something that I do as well. Today, I counted all penalty strokes, 3, and before I teed off on the last hole, I checked my score, and I flubbed my tee shot 15 feet to the ladies tees. I played it from there, hitting two.

Dartgod
06-10-2007, 08:27 PM
The best score I've ever shot was a 69, but it was on a 58,000 yard joke par 70 track.
That's one loooooong course. You sure about that 69?

'Hamas' Jenkins
06-10-2007, 09:00 PM
If you had to ask, you know what the answer is.

It may seem like nitpicking, but think about it:

You got two shots on the front, so when it came to approaches and puts, you knew where the pins were and had an idea of how the putts were going to break.

You shot a 38 and a 40. Still nothing to be ashamed of at all.

ROYC75
06-10-2007, 09:24 PM
By USGA rules, your first 18 is your score. Now what you call it is what you choose to live by, it's your story.

Think of it as your best 27 hole score as well.........

Damn, I miss golf, I'm hoping to be playing again in a month. It's been a 1 1/2 years since I swung the sticks. I'm planning on hitting the range next month, it's been a while and the therapy is coming alongvery well.

OK,nobody knows this till now, 120 days ago I was using a walker to get around each day. For years the pinched nerve, bad knee and bad arches in my feet were causing so much pain, the doc's had me convinced that surgery was my only option and I was on heavy dose's of meds.

The dope was messing my life up, I was still in pain and very quick to snap at family and friends. I was a miserable SOB at the time.

One day I told the wife, I have to find relief, one way or another. I went to talk to a chiropractor and thru him and massage therapy to get the muscles working again,everything was out of place and the muscles became weak and stopped working. I am mobile and walking in less pain that I have in the last 5 years.

Still hurt, but much less and at a 50% reduction in pain meds.

Phobia
06-10-2007, 10:19 PM
Good to hear it, Roy. Congrats.

Dicky McElephant
06-10-2007, 11:19 PM
The way that I see it......as long as you're not making money off of it....who cares.

BWillie
06-10-2007, 11:51 PM
That's one loooooong course. You sure about that 69?

Blah, u know what I meant. It was a 5,800 yard course. It even had a 450 yard par five. Driver, wedge when the wind is at ur back.

:Scanlon:

ChiefsFanatic
06-11-2007, 01:22 AM
By USGA rules, your first 18 is your score. Now what you call it is what you choose to live by, it's your story.

Think of it as your best 27 hole score as well.........

Damn, I miss golf, I'm hoping to be playing again in a month. It's been a 1 1/2 years since I swung the sticks. I'm planning on hitting the range next month, it's been a while and the therapy is coming alongvery well.

OK,nobody knows this till now, 120 days ago I was using a walker to get around each day. For years the pinched nerve, bad knee and bad arches in my feet were causing so much pain, the doc's had me convinced that surgery was my only option and I was on heavy dose's of meds.

The dope was messing my life up, I was still in pain and very quick to snap at family and friends. I was a miserable SOB at the time.

One day I told the wife, I have to find relief, one way or another. I went to talk to a chiropractor and thru him and massage therapy to get the muscles working again,everything was out of place and the muscles became weak and stopped working. I am mobile and walking in less pain that I have in the last 5 years.

Still hurt, but much less and at a 50% reduction in pain meds.


Roy, have you ever tried the Egoscue method? You should check into it.
Pain Free (http://www.amazon.com/Pain-Free-Revolutionary-Stopping-Chronic/dp/0553379887/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/103-0392894-4536610?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1181542876&sr=1-1)

ClevelandBronco
06-11-2007, 03:13 AM
Alright, here is the question. If you normally start off by hitting a bucket of balls before a round, but instead of hitting a bucket of balls, you decide to play 27 [the front, the back, and the front again] can you take your back nine and your second front nine score together? What if you stipulated before the round that the first front nine was your warm-up session? [which I did not do]

I am trying to justify my first "round" in the 70's. I shot 46 on the front, and 38 on the back. I followed that up with a 40 on the front. Normally I would warm up, but it was raining a little, and I wanted to start before it had a chance to get bad. But it became beautiful, and I played 27.

84 would still be my best round ever, but I would love to tell people I shot a 78.

Nope. You didn't stipulate, so it's only a personal score. (I wouldn't even count it officially even if you had "stipulated" it.)

It's nothing more than a personal goal. It's something that you know you can do now. So go do it in regulation play, come back here and brag a bit.

Miles
06-11-2007, 03:19 AM
Blah, u know what I meant. It was a 5,800 yard course. It even had a 450 yard par five. Driver, wedge when the wind is at ur back.

:Scanlon:

My best score was at what I imagine is a similar course. It was about 6000 yds off the tips and the the par 5s played like challenging par 4s.

kepp
06-11-2007, 07:55 AM
I think it's perfectly fine to pick the best of the 3. Think of how many times that little white ball has messed with your head...it's payback time.

Iowanian
06-11-2007, 11:18 AM
My brothers have been trying to get me into golf...and its not working. I don't enjoy it for some reason.

Phildo actually called me half way through the 2nd round I ever played and I think by that time I was driving the cart and drinking beer instead of playing.

For business reasons, I likely need to at least attempt to enjoy it and not play so shamefully badly.

IF no one else were around, other than those with me I might enjoy it more. I just don't like the bitching from people behind, or worrying about whacking balls at people on the oncoming fareway.

I'd rather be fishing.

CosmicPal
06-11-2007, 11:28 AM
If you want your score to count for your handicap, then you must take the score of the first 18 holes you played. You cannot combine 9-hole scores other than the 18 holes you just completed.

Fish
06-11-2007, 11:34 AM
If you're just playing for fun.... who gives a shit, take your nice round...

But if you're playing for anything more than drinking braggin rights, you should take your first 18.

Mr. Plow
06-11-2007, 11:44 AM
I've always felt that it is up to the individual player how you score yourself.....unless money or some sort of bet is involved.

Me, I play it as tight as I can. No mulligans - sometimes 1 per 9 off the tee only - out of bounds, no playing it up, no dropping a second ball if you have a bad shot, no gimmie putts.

I play 9 only most of the time and I can shoot a par (36), but most of the time I'm between 40-45. When I play 18, I can shoot an 80 - which is my personal best - but I usually end up around 84-88.

At my peak last year I was shooting pretty consistently a 39 front / 41-43 back. I've dropped off some this year, but I'm starting to get it back.

I've got one guy that plays the same way I do and he is usually 95-110. Another guy we play with apparently doesn't like our rules. I have no problem with that, but don't tell me we are tied with 2 holes to go. Play your way and let everyone else play their way.