PDA

View Full Version : Humbling story

Phobia
06-20-2007, 11:47 PM
Generally, spring, summer, and fall are incredibly busy for me. This year has been slightly different. In fact, this last month has been rough. I bid a few good jobs and felt confident I would land several. For various reasons (usually because I was outbid), I didn't. So a couple weeks ago the wife tells me we're running short and I needed "X" amount of dollars by the end of the week.

I had been talking to a member of this board about doing his basement, kitchen, and painting his house exterior so I contacted him and told him I'd paint his house for peanuts. Literally, I bid it for about 40% of what I'd normally charge just so I could generate some cash flow.

Obviously, the guy jumped all over the deal and I started painting and repairing wood rot a couple days afterwards.

Then comes the surprising part of the story.... Bill Lundberg approached me and told me that he and his wife had spoken and they weren't going to allow me to paint their house for the amount I had quoted.... They were going to double it - and they did. I just finished touching up everything tonight and got my final check.

I'm not sure if they knew how much it meant to my family, but it couldn't have come at a better time. I didn't really want to tell this story on the board, but I wanted to thank Bill Lundberg and his wife for their generosity and decency towards me.

I don't know anything about how Bill Lundberg runs his mortgage business, but he's earned my business the next time I'm in the market. So, if you're looking for a virtuous individual to handle your mortgage I'd expect this guy will definitely take good care of you.

luv
06-20-2007, 11:50 PM
I can't think of many who would be more deserving.

booger
06-20-2007, 11:51 PM
Well from reading different stuff in the past you seem to do good things for other people. Sometimes when that happens it all comes around and good things come to you.