PDA

View Full Version : VISTA


Psyko Tek
08-01-2007, 06:56 PM
got a free copy with the laptop I bought my wife for xmas

figured I'ld throw it on my machine

jebus
no drivers wanna play with this thing
no sound
no lan
nothing

and then I get to tech support by way of India

I explain that I can't connect to the internet

so he says, google the drivers you need

:banghead:

3 days later and after downloading many drivers on the wife's machine
I give up going back to XP

anybody wanna buy a copy of Vista home
makes a great gift....
for some one you don't like

last time I beta test for microsoft

Saulbadguy
08-01-2007, 07:14 PM
home basic or home premium?

I'll buy it. (for very cheap)

I've got it loaded on my office machine and home machine. Office machine, I had to download sound drivers, home machine, didn't have to download anything. Works like a champ.

PastorMikH
08-01-2007, 09:27 PM
picked up a new HP desktop a week ago that has Vista Home on it. So far I have no complaints at all.

morphius
08-01-2007, 09:44 PM
Even the windows admins next to me at work are bitching about Vista.

Fruit Ninja
08-01-2007, 09:45 PM
Freaking sucks that PC gamers are going to have to give in and get vista and a Dx10 card soon. Thats another 400 in upgrades. Grrr.

Psyko Tek
08-01-2007, 11:31 PM
yeah love that about dx10
saul
I'm gonna try it some more, but if i do get rid of it you will get first crack
it's basic

HC_Chief
08-02-2007, 02:26 PM
not called "Visturd" for nothing

headsnap
08-02-2007, 04:07 PM
Vista drove my wife to the Mac... :)





thanks Bill! :thumb:

Psyko Tek
08-07-2007, 02:24 PM
finaaly got it installed and have sound,
but it's all choppy
if you can't here the explosions what's the fun if killin' pixels

Ebolapox
08-07-2007, 02:42 PM
I just got a new laptop last saturday, I'm happy with vista so far--it's choppy as far as sound/quality of dvd play, but so far that's my only complaint... I have plenty of ram in my machine, so vista the memory hog doesn't rear its ugly head very often so far

Redrum_69
08-07-2007, 03:07 PM
I've had Vista since I posted about needing an upgrade back in February...its been great since.

No problems like what you were having..I'm pretty sure after having your wife..you lack the RAM?

Psyko Tek
08-07-2007, 04:43 PM
2 gig ram
2.9 ghz dual core cpu

Deberg_1990
08-07-2007, 07:21 PM
Ive had a few issues with Vista on my brand new Dell. Ive gotten the blue screen of death 4 or 5 times while hitting certain web pages or watching streaming media.

XP never did this to me.