PDA

View Full Version : Limited connectivity on Belkin router


Simply Red
09-15-2007, 02:40 PM
I swaped hard drives w/ the upstairs computer. I've transfered files etc. from thumb. I have a wireless desktop with the new hard drive. I enter my network key (wireless password) it thinks and thinks and it reads "connected" and then it reads limited connectivity. I can't get on the internet. All 3 remaining computers 2 laps and an additional desk are working fine. So the router is fine/okay.

??? Any ideas?

Nightwish
09-15-2007, 06:40 PM
I swaped hard drives w/ the upstairs computer. I've transfered files etc. from thumb. I have a wireless desktop with the new hard drive. I enter my network key (wireless password) it thinks and thinks and it reads "connected" and then it reads limited connectivity. I can't get on the internet. All 3 remaining computers 2 laps and an additional desk are working fine. So the router is fine/okay.

??? Any ideas? Did you try the old fashioned 10-second test (unplug it from your computer, wait a few seconds, plug it back in; or turn off your computer and reboot it)? That usually corrects the problem when my Belkin router connection tells me that. If not, you might have to do some reconfiguring, and I'm not sure how to do that with a hard drive (I just know how to do it with certain programs).

Jilly
09-15-2007, 07:35 PM
yeah, that was my suggestion, reboot the main hub, turn off the router and then turn it back on....

dj56dt58
09-15-2007, 07:42 PM
routers suck

DaFace
09-15-2007, 09:07 PM
Chances are, you've got one of three problems:

1. You typed in your network key wrong. Double-check and try again.
2. Your router is set up to restrict connected devices based on their MAC address. If you set it up yourself, this is highly unlikely.
3. Your WinSock setup has gotten screwed up. If you can plug the desktop directly into the router and get online, this is NOT the problem. If you can't, though, try this little utility to see if it helps:
http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html

Simply Red
09-15-2007, 10:04 PM
Chances are, you've got one of three problems:

1. You typed in your network key wrong. Double-check and try again.
2. Your router is set up to restrict connected devices based on their MAC address. If you set it up yourself, this is highly unlikely.
3. Your WinSock setup has gotten screwed up. If you can plug the desktop directly into the router and get online, this is NOT the problem. If you can't, though, try this little utility to see if it helps:
http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html
we'll try. Thanks.