PDA

View Full Version : How much storage space do you have?


DaFace
09-29-2007, 05:16 PM
I just upgraded a hard drive in my media center computer today. Apparently 2x250GB just isn't enough anymore! It made me wonder if I'm just an insane downloader, or if there are others like me out there in ChiefsPlanet land. So here's the question:

Including all hard drives from all computers you may own, how much total computer storage space do you have?

JBucc
09-29-2007, 05:17 PM
I only have 120GB. I constantly delete stuff I'm not using though.

keg in kc
09-29-2007, 05:21 PM
The PC I'm working on right now?

Bit over 2 terabytes.

In my 'household' it would be 250+ GB.

DaFace
09-29-2007, 05:22 PM
I figured it up, and here's where I stand:

Media Center PC:
1x500 GB
1x250 GB

Desktop PC:
1x200 GB
2x80 GB (RAID 1)

Laptop:
1x80 GB

Spare:
1x250 GB

So I guess that puts me at a total of 1110 gigs of usable space, with a spare 250 gig lyin around if I ever need it. That's a lot of space.

DaFace
09-29-2007, 05:29 PM
Even though I'm way up there, I built a computer for a guy a year or so ago that had 6x300GB drives in it. I think his computer was on 24/7 downloading stuff.

Mr. Laz
09-29-2007, 05:38 PM
computer 1 - 3 x 250 gig

computer 2 - 250 gig

laptop - 40 gig

DVR 1 - 360 gig
DVR 2 - 250 gig



as you can see .... 250 is the hardware value sweet spot at the moment.

DaFace
09-29-2007, 05:41 PM
computer 1 - 3 x 250 gig

computer 2 - 250 gig

laptop - 40 gig

DVR 1 - 360 gig
DVR 2 - 250 gig



as you can see .... 250 is the hardware value sweet spot at the moment.

Yeah, I've done 250 gigs in the past, but 500 gigs are getting low enough that I think they may be the better value. I paid $100 for the one I bought today. Of course, the fact that I only have two HD slots in my MCPC makes it difficult to upgrade, and I hate externals.

Did you build your DVR's, or purchase them? I'm just using Comcast's DVR for now.

keg in kc
09-29-2007, 05:42 PM
How many of those drives are used up in your porn stash, laz?

Mr. Laz
09-29-2007, 05:52 PM
Yeah, I've done 250 gigs in the past, but 500 gigs are getting low enough that I think they may be the better value. I paid $100 for the one I bought today. Of course, the fact that I only have two HD slots in my MCPC makes it difficult to upgrade, and I hate externals.

Did you build your DVR's, or purchase them? I'm just using Comcast's DVR for now.
ya .... they got a seagate 500 gig on sale right now for $99 bucks


i pretty much build everything myself nowadays except for the laptop.

DaFace
09-29-2007, 05:54 PM
ya .... they got a seagate 500 gig on sale right now for $99 bucks

Heh...that would be the one.

Mr. Laz
09-29-2007, 05:54 PM
How many of those drives are used up in your porn stash, laz?
:p

only 1 computer has any adult content and most of that is just of the wallpaper variety.

i'd guess 5-10 gigs worth

Deberg_1990
09-29-2007, 06:16 PM
No Megabyte option??

Baby Lee
09-29-2007, 07:25 PM
80 G
120 G
250 G

450 in all

And it's not even a majority for downloading

8 G an hour for HDTV kind of mandates it.

Oh, and when I build my next PC, it's gonna be a couple TB, so I can take my 1300 CDs and 200 DVDs, rip them lossless and stick them in the basement.

Count Alex's Wins
09-29-2007, 07:44 PM
Almost a full terabyte.

Fruit Ninja
09-29-2007, 07:49 PM
i ha ve about 400gigs, but if i wanna save something it just burn it to a dvd. especially if i think its worth keeping. NEver know when a HD is going to crash out on you.

Bob Dole
09-29-2007, 08:18 PM
This 40MB Seagate ST251-1 is bullet proof, baby.

Nightwish
09-29-2007, 08:22 PM
I have 250G on my PC, and 80G on my laptop.

BigMeatballDave
09-29-2007, 09:06 PM
http://www.vintage-computer.com/images/apple2e.jpg I Don't know....

'Hamas' Jenkins
09-29-2007, 11:32 PM
400, an 80 Gig IDE and a 320 gig SATA.

I'd like to build an HD HTPC, but given the shittiness of PC audio and the dearth of cards that can capture satellite HD sources, I'm probably going to have to wait a while for solid 7.1 PCM audio and a Cable-Card ready HD tuner.

Nightwish
09-30-2007, 01:05 AM
http://www.vintage-computer.com/images/apple2e.jpg I Don't know....
Did you find that at an archaeological dig? What were the results of the carbon dating?

listopencil
09-30-2007, 03:13 AM
I don't know...


Ctrl-Open Apple-Delete, baby.

Braincase
09-30-2007, 08:08 AM
Just in my office, I'm over 2 TB... probably pushing 3.

BigMeatballDave
09-30-2007, 11:06 AM
Did you find that at an archaeological dig? What were the results of the carbon dating?Circa, 1984.
:)

Nightwish
09-30-2007, 07:57 PM
Circa, 1984.
:)
Heh, don't feel bad. I've still got an old Commodore 64 in my folks' basement, I think.

Short Leash Hootie
10-01-2007, 02:34 AM
320 external, 80 internal...

2.5 GB RAM
AMD Dual Core

not a bad PC...I'm probably going to have to add another external in a year or so...I'm a fan of externals because I use a lot of computers and like to be able to take my movies and shit home with me so I'm not bored as **** when I'm there...

patteeu
10-01-2007, 07:50 AM
On my main PC:

Internal
1x40GB
4x250GB

External
1x200GB

And I have about another TB on my family's other 4 computers, but I don't use any of that storage for my stuff.

Mr. Laz
10-02-2007, 10:36 AM
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Western-Digital-750GB-My-Book-Essential-Hard-Drive-WDG1U7500N/sem/rpsm/oid/186188/catOid/-12973/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do


Western Digital 750GB My Book Essential Hard Drive - $214

BWillie
10-04-2007, 11:03 PM
LOL I have one laptop. It has 29 gigs. I am too lazy to download that much shit.