PDA

View Full Version : What do I need to record from my TIVO to a DVD Recorder?


Pestilence
10-09-2007, 01:39 PM
Other than the obvious......the recorder and the TIVO.

Any help would be appreciated.

Saulbadguy
10-09-2007, 01:45 PM
Hook up the Tivo's outputs to the DVD records inputs. Play, record, done. There is probably a better way though.

Pestilence
10-09-2007, 01:54 PM
Is that using just a regular A/V cord?

irishjayhawk
10-09-2007, 06:50 PM
Not to hijack, but anybody know how to transfer from a DVR to a computer?

Saulbadguy
10-09-2007, 06:53 PM
Is that using just a regular A/V cord?
Aye, composite video/audio.

'Hamas' Jenkins
10-09-2007, 10:10 PM
Aye, composite video/audio.

Or you can use an S-Video cable w/ RCA's for audio, as almost all DVD recorders have S Vid ins and Tivo's have S-Vid outs.

To Irish:

If you have an actual Tivo, and not a generic DVR, it's pretty easy. For an older Series 2 model, buy a USB ethernet adapter, connect it to a router with a network cable, then do the following:


Download and Install Tivo Server and Tivo Desktop on your PC

Hit "Menu" on your Tivo remote

Messages and Settings

Settings

Phone and Network

Change it to use network instead of use phone

Then go to "change network settings"

"Get automatically from DHCP server"

If that doesn't work, let the DVR assign itself an IP address.

After that, you should be good to transfer photos, vids, and music to and fro.