PDA

View Full Version : Herm - "I'm a Super Bowl coach!"

Count Zarth
11-17-2007, 11:52 PM
You go Herm. You go.

http://www.kansascity.com/sports/chiefs/story/366074.html

Does Herm Edwards have that championship gene in his makeup like his friend Tony Dungy?

KANSAS CITY | Chiefs coach Herm Edwards does not duck the question. You can say what you want about him, and people do, but he doesn’t duck many questions.

“Am I a Super Bowl coach?” he asks back. He’s not angry. He’s animated. His eyes are wide open now. He had looked tired seconds earlier — no sleep, the penance for a losing coach who is about to take his team to Indianapolis to face the Super Bowl champs. On the video screen behind him, quarterback Damon Huard is frozen in time. It is the instant before Huard fumbled against Denver last week, the fumble that sealed the Chiefs’ doom. Edwards had been watching the play again and again at his desk.

“Absolutely, I’m a Super Bowl coach,” Edwards says. “I don’t say that with any arrogance. You have to believe in yourself, and I do. I know what I’m doing here. I know what it takes to build a winner. I know how hard it is. We’re going to do it here.”

He points to a photograph that is across the room. It is two young coaches standing arm in arm and smiling for the camera. The coaches are Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards.

“We made a promise to each other, a long time ago,” Edwards says.

•••

INDIANAPOLIS | Colts coach Tony Dungy does not duck the question. He’s a quiet man in many ways, but he will tell you what’s in his heart.

“I don’t think there is any such a thing as a Super Bowl coach,” he says.