PDA

View Full Version : Technical help guru's please - DNs failure


chagrin
12-03-2007, 06:40 PM
so here I am, able to get to the planet and some other sites (dsl issues apparently and bellsouth is not answering)- so I self test my westgate modem through the bellsouth site - it fails all attempts to ping any web site at all, even this one.

Why the discrepancy?

other examples of sites that I cannot access right now are:

http://www.gamefaqs.com/computer/doswin/file/939027/50502

http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/story/13893143/the_last_confessions_of_e_howard_hunt/print

and plenty others, but I can log onto my credit card account site, chiefsplanet (1 out of every 3 attempts)

SLAG
12-03-2007, 07:17 PM
reboot your modem, router, and pc in that order

chagrin
12-03-2007, 07:38 PM
reboot your modem, router, and pc in that order


I had already done that 3 times, but I did it again - here I am but I still can't ping yahoo's server, my work's server (but I can pull up both sites for some reason)
I have logged off and on of my modem repeatedly - weird.
I am unable to reach bellsouth, I don't know what's going on


The last time this happened, they updated my modem and opened a new port for me; I do not know how to do that myself.

SLAG
12-03-2007, 08:47 PM
I had already done that 3 times, but I did it again - here I am but I still can't ping yahoo's server, my work's server (but I can pull up both sites for some reason)
I have logged off and on of my modem repeatedly - weird.
I am unable to reach bellsouth, I don't know what's going on


The last time this happened, they updated my modem and opened a new port for me; I do not know how to do that myself.

Have you installed any new programs?

What did you Right before this started happening

dtebbe
12-03-2007, 09:48 PM
Bellsouth had another major DNS outage. I did some research and found there are open DNS servers you can use. http://opendns.com

Just go in your router or pc and set your backup DNS server to one of thier servers:

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

You could leave one server as Bellsouth and one as open DNS, but after using open DNS for about an hour, I feel that it resolves much faster than Bellsouth ever has.

DT

chagrin
12-04-2007, 06:20 AM
Bellsouth had another major DNS outage. I did some research and found there are open DNS servers you can use. http://opendns.com

Just go in your router or pc and set your backup DNS server to one of thier servers:

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

You could leave one server as Bellsouth and one as open DNS, but after using open DNS for about an hour, I feel that it resolves much faster than Bellsouth ever has.

DT

thanks dude - I figured it was Bell's problem but I had no idea how to do the DNS server thing, it's working now

Simplex3
12-04-2007, 09:30 AM
BellSouth's DNS network is notoriously piss poor. Just use the open servers or set up your own caching DNS server.

http://www.ntcanuck.com/

chagrin
12-04-2007, 04:43 PM
BellSouth's DNS network is notoriously piss poor. Just use the open servers or set up your own caching DNS server.

http://www.ntcanuck.com/


the last time you recommended something it was over my head, how is this and is it simple enough/will it screw with my little system here??

Simplex3
12-05-2007, 12:55 AM
the last time you recommended something it was over my head, how is this and is it simple enough/will it screw with my little system here??
CAN it screw things up? Sure. I'd run through the setup to see how easy it is but I don't have Winblows running on any of my machines anymore.

chagrin
12-05-2007, 06:52 AM
CAN it screw things up? Sure. I'd run through the setup to see how easy it is but I don't have Winblows running on any of my machines anymore.

Heh, I use Firefox