PDA

View Full Version : NFL Draft The official feedback thread after watching OL draft prospects in Bowls.

Frankie
12-24-2007, 08:36 AM
Give us your analysis of how the well known or obscure college O-linemen did in bowl games. Were you impressed or disappointed? I am no real expert, but I will start:

I watched Ryan Clady last night and to my layman's eyes he looked impressive. To the best of my recollection, he did not give up a sack. Always took his man the long way around. Very athletic. No beer guts. Showed excellent footwork and power. For the plays the Boise State was calling he was able to show his pass blocking more than his run blocking. They were running to the right more often than to the left. I would love to see this guy in red and gold next year. If we end up with a top 5 pick, it would be perfect for us to trade down just enough to get him. But looks like we won't be trading down too far to get him at value. He is probably a top ten pick.I doubt that Jake Long will impress me any more than Clady did.

Frankie
12-26-2007, 02:41 PM
Anybody else see the game and wanna chime in about Clady before other O-linemen are put on display in Bowl Games?

HonestChieffan
12-26-2007, 02:42 PM
I missed all the bowls. How did the Illini look?

El Jefe
12-26-2007, 02:48 PM
I missed all the bowls. How did the Illini look?

They havent played, the Rose Bowl is Jan 1st.

Micjones
12-26-2007, 03:01 PM
If we traded down to, say, 10 and got Clady...
We'd pick up at least a #2, no?

SBK
12-26-2007, 03:03 PM
If we traded down to, say, 10 and got Clady...
We'd pick up at least a #2, no?

I posted this in another thread too. A few years ago Cleveland traded up to 6 from 7 with Detroit. For that honor they also gave up their #2. So dropping to 10 would be more than that for sure.

Still not a fan of doing that though.

HonestChieffan
12-26-2007, 03:26 PM
How did Mizzou do?

Mecca
12-26-2007, 03:49 PM
I watched Clady get bitch slapped by a no name DE on Hawaii....