PDA

View Full Version : Which 1st and 2nd round combination would you rather have over Jared Allen?

Rain Man
04-17-2008, 07:02 PM
Here are the rules:

1. Click on each set of players that you would trade Jared Allen in exchange for (i.e., you lose Jared Allen, you get the players named)

2. Assume that all drafted players are rookies and will repeat their Chiefs careers exactly as those careers transpired.

3. If a player arrived by trade, assume that they repeated their Chiefs career exactly as it transpired.

4. Assume that you could get the players for the 2008 Chiefs.

5. When you're done, report how many of the 16 1st-1st combos, how many of the 17 1st-2nd combos, and how many of the 17 1st-3rd combos are worth more than Jared Allen.

I know it's not exact since the placement of each pick within the round varies, and the Chiefs' needs have varied over time, but over the course of Carl's decades-long junta, I think it evens out to a fair representation of what we could expect.

Note: I included the impacts of other trades where possible, e.g., the tradedown of our 1st rounder in 2005 brought multiple picks that turned into multiple busts.

Poll forthcoming, unlike Carl Peterson's firing.

Count Zarth
04-17-2008, 07:15 PM
John Elway and Willie Lanier.

Pestilence
04-17-2008, 07:17 PM
Ahhhhhhhhh........I'm dumb.

Mecca
04-17-2008, 07:18 PM
If the point of this is to basically say "look this team doesn't draft well" We should all just find another team to like because if you can't draft well you will not win anything.

kstater
04-17-2008, 07:20 PM
Honestly, I don't think I can pick any of those pairs. I'm thinking of DT and Snow, but can't really justify it.

buddha
04-17-2008, 07:22 PM
Derrick Thomas and a Big Gulp would make the deal for me. DT was an all-timer.

Rain Man
04-17-2008, 07:23 PM
I count 3 times out of 16 where I would value our 2 1st rounders over Jared. I would trade Jared for a combo of:

Victor Riley and Tony Gonzalez