PDA

View Full Version : Electronics Anybody use Vonage?


Skip Towne
04-29-2008, 12:56 PM
What do you like or dislike about it?

Calcountry
04-29-2008, 01:05 PM
Boy, this one is sure to go to a hundred.

recxjake
04-29-2008, 01:06 PM
I'm looking into this as well... my question is... how does it hook up?

It seems very cheap for what you get.

DaFace
04-29-2008, 01:07 PM
My brother, parents, and grandparents have all been on it for over 2 years. For the most part, the price is the main selling point, though my brother likes the fact that he can get a log of all of his teenage daughter's telephone calls at any time and a couple of their other online features.

Drawbacks I've noticed:
-Slight delay in voice transmission. It's almost unnoticeable, but it seems like we interrupt each other more because of it.
-Voice quality goes down if your internet connection is pretty active. If you're not the downloading type, it's not a big deal, but when your PC is going crazy, the phone connection doesn't do too well. A QoS router would fix it, but that's a bit technical.

Basileus777
04-29-2008, 01:08 PM
Those commercials they used to run drove me crazy. I'd rather listen to rick roll than that ****ing theme.

DaFace
04-29-2008, 01:08 PM
I'm looking into this as well... my question is... how does it hook up?

It seems very cheap for what you get.

Cable/DSL Modem ---> Router ---> Vonage Box ---> standard phone line

You can either plug your phone directly into the Vonage box, or if you want to go a little crazy like my brother did, you can reverse a couple wires in your phone box and your entire house's standard phone lines will go right through the box. In usage, it's no different than what you're used to on a normal land line.

Skip Towne
04-29-2008, 01:32 PM
Will AT&T let me keep my DSL without their phone service?

KurtCobain
04-29-2008, 01:33 PM
They keep calling my phone. they need to f**********************************************************ck off.

Scaga
04-29-2008, 01:36 PM
I've had it for 3-4 years now. No problems. My bill (in Kansas) comes out to just $31 per month. Caller ID, call waiting, three party, ect...ect...ect, plus FREE unlimited long distance.

Only drawback I've seem in when my cable goes out, so does the phone service. However, they do give you the option of forwarding calls to your cell phone in that event, or even when you go out of town.

If you do it, make sure you have someone send you an invite. It gives them TWO months free service for everyone that signs up.

DaFace
04-29-2008, 01:47 PM
Will AT&T let me keep my DSL without their phone service?

What you're referring to is called "naked" DSL (seriously). It's not very common, but some companies have it available.

A short answer to your question would be "I doubt it, but maybe."

BigMeatballDave
04-29-2008, 01:50 PM
or if you want to go a little crazy like my brother did, you can reverse a couple wires in your phone box and your entire house's standard phone lines will go right through the box. In usage, it's no different than what you're used to on a normal land line.This is what I did when I had it. Worked good.

beach tribe
04-29-2008, 01:51 PM
"Look honey...Dolphins!!!"

Skip Towne
07-30-2008, 10:09 AM
Well, I went ahead and signed up. They advertise $24.95 per month but it is really about $33 when they add taxes and fees. Still a good deal for unlimited long distance. We'll see how it works out.

Saulbadguy
07-30-2008, 10:12 AM
Just use a cell phone.

Skip Towne
07-30-2008, 10:15 AM
Just use a cell phone.

How do you hook up a fax machine to a cell phone?

Demonpenz
07-30-2008, 10:16 AM
How do you hook up a fax machine to a cell phone?

carefully

Skip Towne
07-30-2008, 10:18 AM
carefully

I heard it was "not at all".

Redrum_69
07-30-2008, 10:24 AM
um, skip, are you sure you dont mean viagra?

Redrum_69
07-30-2008, 10:27 AM
ever notice how much one consonant can change a word...

viagra
vagina

Frazod
07-30-2008, 10:34 AM
I don't have enough faith in my ISP to do it.

chasedude
07-30-2008, 10:55 AM
I got rid of my land line ages ago. Cell phone works most of the time.

The Rick
07-30-2008, 11:09 AM
I used Vonage for a couple of years and finally switched to Time Warner Cable Digital Phone about 6 months ago. I really liked the features and the price of Vonage, but I had lots of problems. I constantly had to reboot my Vonage device or router.

Frazod
07-30-2008, 11:14 AM
I got rid of my land line ages ago. Cell phone works most of the time.

I have DTV and an alarm system - I have to have a land line for that. Otherwise I'd do the same thing.

Scorp
07-30-2008, 11:56 AM
I used to have vonage for two years. I loved the service. Saved a boat load of money from AT&T. I would still have it today if I could get a local Topeka number from Vonage. I cheacked about 6 months ago and still couldn't get a local topeka number.

Only one complaint: If you ever want to discontinue their service, you will have to literally threaten to kick the guys ass before he will cancel your account.

I had to tell the guy I talked to 20 times to cancel my account, they want to keep upselling you. Finally I said, if you don't cancel my account right now I will find you and kill your sister. He didn't find that amusing and cancelled my account.

Skip Towne
07-30-2008, 12:02 PM
I have DTV and an alarm system - I have to have a land line for that. Otherwise I'd do the same thing.

You don't need a phone line for Directv anymore.

penguinz
07-30-2008, 12:08 PM
Would hooking the phone line up to my DirectTV box make it stop shitting out every time a cloud passes over?

Skip Towne
07-30-2008, 12:21 PM
Would hooking the phone line up to my DirectTV box make it stop shitting out every time a cloud passes over?

No but I'll bet you are exaggerating.....by a lot. If you're not then your dish is not aligned properly. Mine hardly ever goes out, only during heavy T-storms.

Hog Farmer
07-30-2008, 12:21 PM
Skip, I got one of these ordered, might be better than Vonage and definitely cheaper. Should be getting mine this week. Unlimited long distance 19.95 a year.

www.majicjack.com (http://www.majicjack.com)

Goapics1
07-30-2008, 12:22 PM
Would hooking the phone line up to my DirectTV box make it stop shitting out every time a cloud passes over?

Pay your bill.

Skip Towne
07-30-2008, 12:26 PM
Skip, I got one of these ordered, might be better than Vonage and definitely cheaper. Should be getting mine this week. Unlimited long distance 19.95 a year.

www.majicjack.com (http://www.majicjack.com)

I'll give it a try. I got all twitterpated trying to go Vonage. Iwould have to do without my internet for 24 hours among other things so I already cancelled.

Frazod
07-30-2008, 12:37 PM
You don't need a phone line for Directv anymore.

How does it work now?

Saulbadguy
07-30-2008, 12:57 PM
How does it work now?

The DirecTV folk said that the only reason I would need a phone line is to order PPV movies with my remote control.

Skip Towne
07-30-2008, 12:59 PM
How does it work now?

You never did really need it. They just want you to have it thinking you will rent movies if you do. Cell phones stopped them from requiring it.

FAX
07-30-2008, 01:03 PM
A man's phone charge made him stare in awe.
Then he and two friends said, "Aha!
If our bills we combine,
We'll make a party line
And can call it a vonage-a-trois!"

FAX

Frazod
07-30-2008, 02:00 PM
You never did really need it. They just want you to have it thinking you will rent movies if you do. Cell phones stopped them from requiring it.

After awhile our boxes won't work right unless they are connected to the line so they can update. Is this something new?

markk
07-30-2008, 02:02 PM
How do you hook up a fax machine to a cell phone?

what's a fax machine?

Skip Towne
07-30-2008, 02:35 PM
After awhile our boxes won't work right unless they are connected to the line so they can update. Is this something new?

Mine has never had a phone line hooked up. And I never hooked them up when I installed them.

Frazod
07-30-2008, 02:46 PM
Mine has never had a phone line hooked up. And I never hooked them up when I installed them.

Well, I'll check on it. Sure would be nice not to have to deal with that. Thanks.

Skip Towne
07-30-2008, 02:50 PM
Well, I'll check on it. Sure would be nice not to have to deal with that. Thanks.

I don't know if they will admit it but you could call them and tell them you are doing away with your landline. They hook up new customers who only have a cell phone. Or just unhook them and see what happens. Nothing will.

PastorMikH
07-30-2008, 02:58 PM
I have DTV and an alarm system - I have to have a land line for that. Otherwise I'd do the same thing.



An alarm system - that should keep the intruders from shooting your fridge, oh wait, that wasn't an intruder, never mind.


:)

MIAdragon
07-30-2008, 03:09 PM
Will AT&T let me keep my DSL without their phone service?

Yes, thats what I do.

SBK
07-30-2008, 04:20 PM
How do you hook up a fax machine to a cell phone?

www.efax.com or something similar. Faxes are emailed to you, can get them anywhere.

I'd also recommend skype, it's like $35 a YEAR maybe $50 if you get an inbound line as well. You can forward your calls globally (for free), and you can chat on skype as well (similar to im).

Skype is awesome, I've had it for a few years and won't ever buy a landline again.

Hog Farmer
07-31-2008, 09:18 AM
Got my majicjack and plugged it in this morning. I've made 5 long distance calls and received one. No problems so far. The quality of the call is no different than the regular phone line. So far so good. My long distance bill from my office is about $250 a month. Not now! WooHoo!

knowmo3
07-31-2008, 09:56 AM
I have vonage... i got the 3 months for 9.95/per month deal they have running. It is cheap as shit and i like it. You get a little Vonage adapter thingy plug it into your modem and your ready to go. Caller ID comes with it and after three months its only 24.95. Much better than going through the phone company.

The main thing I love about it is you get to keep your old phone number......If you are going to pay for high speed internet i think it would be dumb not to get vonage. They have a bunch of awesome plans for international calling too. I love it.

wutamess
07-31-2008, 10:38 AM
Will AT&T let me keep my DSL without their phone service?

I have Vonage and ATT DSL.
I have what's called a dry loop DSL connection.
Basically, they come out and disable your phone lines for Internet only.
Vonage, it's really clearer than my POTS so it was a win-win for me.

All the features that AT&T had for half the price.
Pay my $200 for the year and I'm done.