PDA

View Full Version : Home and Auto Buyers market for home improvement projects?

RJ
07-22-2008, 03:39 PM
With the economy not doing so well and fewer folks spending money right now I'm wondering if this might not be a good time to be having some home improvement work done. I work in the flooring business and I've seen things become very competitive this year. New construction has slowed to a crawl and now the guys who were mostly doing builder work have invaded the retail sector to try to survive. I'm seeing work being sold at crazy low margins, apparently just trying to generate cash flow. Despite the many price increases from our suppliers it seems like the few customers who are in the market are buying at lower prices today than they were a year ago.

Anyway, it got me thinking that rather than putting off getting some work on my own house done, perhaps I should be looking to buy now. I know that quite a few Planeteers work in home improvement type fields. Are any of you guys seeing the same trends? Is it in fact a buyers market?

HC_Chief
07-22-2008, 03:44 PM
Better strike now while the iron is hot. More & more people are looking to improve their current home, rather than go get a new one. That means increased demand in the home improvement market which will drive up prices.

Phobia
07-22-2008, 04:05 PM
No. Quite the opposite in fact.

StcChief
07-22-2008, 04:06 PM
I would think that as well, may be market area driven

RJ
07-22-2008, 04:11 PM
I would think that as well, may be market area driven

Maybe so. The other night I answered the phone and it was a guy who owned a landscaping company. We talked for a while and then I asked him how he got my number, I thought maybe he was using a criss-cross directory and canvassing my particular neighborhood. To my surprise, he was just randomly cold calling from the white pages. You know he's gotta be slow to be spending an evening doing that.