PDA

View Full Version : Legal Windfall Profits Tax Constitutional?

HonestChieffan
08-04-2008, 02:09 PM
Found this on another site....Interesting read

Bill O'Reilly began his afternoon radio show by talking about Sen. Obama's windfall profit tax scheme he intends to implement. Mr. O'Reilly suggested that Sen. Obama's scheme will fail on the grounds that such a tax would be unconstitutional. This puzzled me; I know that a windfall profits tax was previously implemented but repealed in the late 1980's. It seems like an interesting topic to debate so I wanted to bring it forth. It is possible that this has been discussed before, but since Sen. Obama has recently introduced a new political ad that advocates for the windfall profits tax I thought it would be appropriate.

I'm not a lawyer, nor would I ever want to be, but looking at the previous court case may provide us some clues as to what may happen if a windfall profits tax is challenged in court.

http://caselaw.lp.findlaw.com/script...l=462&invol=74

Presumably Mr. O'Reilly was referring to the Uniformity Clause - he didn't mention it specifically before I turned off the radio.

If I get this wrong, please correct me. It seems, according to this document, that this original windfall tax was a reaction to potential "windfalls" that companies would gain as a result of recent deregulation (elimination of price controls). The question was whether or not exempting domestically produced Alaskan oil from this tax violated the Uniformity Clause. They were not challenging the constitutionality of imposing a unique tax on one industry; they were challenging whether or not geographical concerns should be relevant in determining the constitutionality of an exemption on a tax. Congress wanted the exemption because of unique "climactic and geographic conditions" that made costs of drilling in Alaska "15 times higher" than in other locations.