View Full Version : Computers Anyone have any experience using a Cat5 coupler?

08-26-2008, 03:34 PM
I have 50ft of Cat5 cable run from my router in my office (upstairs) and am trying to run it to the basement, at the other end of the house, to plug into my DVR.

I'm short, and need to add a 25ft cable to make the distance.

Anyone have any experience in patching two cables like this, and is it just as easy as getting one of these?


08-26-2008, 03:42 PM
I've tried those before. I've had some work, and some not. I could never figure out why there was no signal in the one that didn't work.

08-26-2008, 03:44 PM
Never used one... if you get it and it works, let me know. I typically use a router in situations such as this. Adding hops is unfavorable; I'd much rather use a coupler.

08-26-2008, 03:48 PM
I've used those. I had no problems.

08-26-2008, 03:48 PM
It's as easy as that...

Or you could just cut and make your own Cat5 straightthrough/crossover?? Pretty easy to find a color chart and do it yourself.

08-26-2008, 03:57 PM
I've used that exact one Warpath...

It works just fine.

08-26-2008, 04:20 PM
Thanks, guys.

Appreciate it. Time to jump on Monoprice and order...

'Hamas' Jenkins
08-26-2008, 04:34 PM
Absolutely no issues with them. I've used them for 8 years without problems.

08-29-2008, 12:57 PM

Got it today, and exactly what I needed.

Thanks for the assistance, fellas.